Chapter 121 – The truth about kard and Research Team Seven

7 04 2009

(johnny07)

We’re free! Well, kinda. I’m now allowed to blog, and I have a proper bed, and I’m allowed outside, and I’m being allowed proper food rather than plain, slightly dry bread, which is certainly an improvement.

I think it’s only fair that you guys get an explanation of exactly what the heck happened after Megan last blogged.

I guess it all started on that Tuesday when we were arrested. That came out of nowhere. We immediately ran for it. Tom escaped in the confusion; the rest of us weren’t so lucky.

The rest of that week was just… waiting. I think I was asleep when the infamous gas attack took place, because I don’t remember it. All I remember is waking up in different cell to the one I went to sleep in.

I never saw kard. All I heard was this computerised voice telling me that I was in the headquarters of Research Team Seven, and now I was going to suffer for my insolence.

And there I was for the next week. No mattress, very little to eat or drink, bucket in the corner, changed daily. There was a screen on the wall which would come on every morning so that I could read about the adventures of Tom in that dungeon place. Apart from that, no contact with anyone anywhere.

Then, last Sunday morning, I heard all this banging and shouting, and I was terrified. I didn’t have a clue what was going on. Then a bunch of people came in, claiming to be the real Research Team Seven, and told me that there was no time to explain, and I had to come with them. There didn’t seem to be any choice, so I followed them.

We passed a box on a desk that had our stuff on it, and Iaru grabbed it. It’s all there and intact, as far as we can tell, with the exception of the clef, which has gone missing.

We left by helicopter. I’m not sure where we are now. We had to take a pretty roundabout route to avoid being followed.

Anyway, here we are at a facility owned by the real Research Team Seven. And as far as we can tell, they are the real ones. I mean, the woman we met up with who told us about the Network of Allies is here.

I know, we don’t know that we can trust them. The first thing we did when we got here, once we’d all washed and got a change of clothes, and laid down in actual beds and they’d presented us with food, was demand some answers.

The explanation we got was essentially the same one we got last time. The organisation that abducted us, which kard works for, is called the Network of Arms. They’re a militant branch of a larger organisation called the Network of Allies, so called because it consists of a number of smaller organisations working together to form a global organisation. FootGood Shoes, the American shoe company where Bradley’s friend’s dad worked, is a member of the Network. They also have people in governments and police forces worldwide; they’re the ones who framed us. They’re basically trying to get their hands on some old weapons technology that belonged to Research Team Seven, and Research Team Seven are trying to stop them. That’s why the clef is important. It’s a key that will enable them to access this technology. There’s three in total, and all three are necessary.

Currently, the Network has one (the one they stole from us) and RT7 has one (that they stole from FootGood Shoes). The location of the other is unknown, but it’s believed to be somewhere in Europe; it used to belong to a Spanish collector who offered to sell it to Birrow Fletcha, but it has been stolen, possibly by the Network of Allies.

They still haven’t told us everything. There are some points which they deliberately evaded. We’re going to keep trying until we get some straight answers out of them.

There’s some other news which you might find more interesting. Apparently, after Tom was abducted, police wanted to arrest Caitlin and Mark on suspicion of aiding and abetting known criminals. But they weren’t there. In fact, they’ve been here for the past two weeks. It sure was a relief to see some familiar faces. It was obvious that they had been worrying about us a lot.

We’re still not sure what to make of Research Team Seven, but at the moment, I think I know which side I’m inclined to support.


Actions

Information

One response

9 04 2009
museditions

So, you are all together again, and in a relatively safe place? Whew, that’s such a relief! Your first confinement sounds nasty, and you all must be concerned about Tom. Hmmm, three clefs. One wonders what they actually DO. Calling them “old weapons technology” makes me a little nervous.
It certainly seems that a high priority would be to find this facility of kard’s. Good luck to you all.

johnny07: Yes, we are, and yes, it’s a relief! Sorry for not replying sooner. We’ve been helping Research Team Seven out with one or two things, so we’ve been very busy.

Thank you for the luck. It looks like kard and the clefs are no longer our responsibility, which is a relief. Thank you for the luck, though.




