Omake Rant / Giving Blood Again

24 03 2009

This is the first omake chapter (the term is borrowed from manga).  Basically, it’s bonus information relating to the story, and absolutely isn’t just intended to distract you while I write up the next few chapters.

Honest.

Anyway, this should hopefully clear up some of the confusion regarding who’s who in the world of “the experiment”.  At present, it only contains the characters I consider most important, but it will almost certainly be subject to future updates.

***

Now I am going to subject you to tell you the story that I was too tired to include in my last post.

I went to donate blood for the second time on Thursday.  The last time I did this I was quite nervous, but I was a lot more confident this time now that I thought I knew what it would entail.  I was in for a slightly unpleasant surprise.

When I got there, by some absurd stroke of fortune, the exact same trio of friends that I’d met last time were there in the queue directly in front of me (this was not the unpleasant surprise; this was a nice surprise).  It was really funny, because while I’d known that one of them was also intending to give blood that day, we hadn’t arranged to meet up, and that’s the second time that’s happened.  My friend joked that she thought I was stalking them.

The not-so-pleasant surprise was when I was informed that, due to a technical problem the last time I’d donated, I would not be allowed to fill a blood bag this time.  I had been informed of the problem before, but when I’d asked an NHS help person over the phone about it, she’d said I would be able to donate.

Anyway, the nurse explained that there was a slight abnormality in my blood, which wouldn’t affect me, but could affect how long the blood could be stored.  She also told me that it had been used, which I was glad to hear, since I’d been worried it would have gone to waste.  However, this time my blood would have to be taken for testing.  I was to fill three small bottles, instead of the full blood bag.

And I still managed to screw up.  Sometimes I think I can’t do anything right.  When she stuck the needle in my left arm, I shifted my arm ever so slightly.  She unplugged the tube after filling only one bottle, and told me that I’d messed it up by moving.  I think she thought it best to stop there, but I was determined to donate something, so I offered the right arm.  I made sure I kept very still that time.

Anyway, I ended up with two plasters (a friend quipped that I had both arms done to be nice and symmetrical), and a bruise on my left arm.  The nurse gave me a helpful pamphlet explaining to me about bruises.  Because obviously, I’ve never had a bruise before.  It was helpfully illustrated with pictures of bruised apples because, of course, bruised apples are so similar to bruised limbs.  Thank you, NHS.

They gave us biscuits after.  We were slightly miffed when, once we were done eating our plain biscuits, some Milky Way bars were put out.  We took four anyway, because we were greedy pigs.


Actions

Information

3 responses

24 03 2009
sulz

oh, i’m so due to donate blood but it’s not fun to do it alone.😦 well, that and the fact that the places to go to donate blood are kinda inconvenient to go to. i’m waiting for a blood donation drive happening near my place and during the weekend, though i keep missing them now that i’ve my part-time job.

i never know if my blood has been used. i hope it has! so will you be able to donate blood again?

i like bruises.😳 and you’ve got two (well, i thinking the right one might be a bit bruised too after a while?)! i’m envious!

haha, i would’ve taken the milky ways too. i love milky way. the last time i donated they gave us soggy sandwiches and milo, bleh.

25 03 2009
museditions

You are a funny dude! I know this wasn’t what you were doing, but it sounds as if you studied for a blood test (haha) and failed! You are certainly not the first person who has wiggled whilst having blood sucked out of his arm.
And now you apparently have an apple on each arm, or something. I’m incredulous that the NHS actually has pamphlets like that!
I hope your blood and you are OK. What is the anomaly? You’re not a vampire, are you?😕😀

25 03 2009
B0bbyG

@ sulz: It’s good to have some familiar faces around when you go into a place like that, isn’t it? It’s reassuring, somehow, and it’s nice to have people to talk to while you’re waiting to donate. And to share your all-you-can-eat biscuit buffet biscuits with.🙂 It’s pretty unfortunate that your job clashes with the blood donation drives. There are weekday donation “sessions” at a nearby church hall on a regular basis, so I’ve been going there.

They say that all blood that gets donated will almost certainly used, so that’s encouraging. But I won’t find out if I can donate again until I get my test results back. I sure hope I can.

I’m afraid I don’t like bruises. That’s a little strange, sulz. But you guessed correctly; the right arm is a little bruised, although not so much. Both are fading now.

Free Milky Ways are just irresistable, that’s the problem. Still, it was a bit mean of them to wait until we’d finished before laying them out. Maybe they don’t like us.😛

Soggy sandwiches and Milo? That doesn’t sound very rewarding!

@ museditions: I’m funny? Um, thanks, I think. Aye, I fail at giving blood!😦 And no, I don’t imagine I am the first person to wriggle in that situation!🙂

You might be incredulous, but I assure you the pamphlet really exists! They also gave two of my friends similar pamphlets about “feeling faint”, which I think is a bit more understandable, since it’s not something most people experience very often.

Well, I feel absolutely fine, thank you. I don’t know what the anomaly is, but I am definitely not a vampire! It was sunny out today, and I didn’t burn up or disintegrate. Or even sparkle.😉




