Chapter 106 – the rant

13 03 2009

It’s really late.  I think I must be really bad at managing my time.

Thing is, my final draft of my History coursework was due in today, and I had to write a Music Tech essay for tomorrow, so it took me this long just to finish this.  I know, that’s a terrible excuse.

I visited Winchester University on Saturday.  It seemed like a pretty cool place.  To be honest, I wasn’t ever so impressed with the uni itself, but I liked the town and I liked the Creative Writing course.  Now I need to make up my mind which university to apply for.

Also, I am ever so happy at the moment.  We got our January modular results back today, and I wasn’t really looking forward to seeing how I did in History.  I was kind of resigned to having done badly in that, since, if you remember, I wasn’t too happy with the exam.  In most of the practice papers I’d done, I’d gotten a C or a D, which isn’t bad, but it’s nothing special.  The I got my result at afternoon registration today, and it was an A!

In a way, I think it’s taking the mickey a bit.  I mean, I kept falling asleep in class, for goodness sake!  I was half asleep in the exam!  So I don’t honestly feel like I deserved that grade, but I’m naturally chuffed to bits at having achieved it  all the same.  You know, when I told one friend about it, she looked at me in total stunned disbelief, and said, “Oh my God!”  You’d think she was horrified.  It wasn’t exactly flattering.😆

What this means, of course, is that I may actually have the potential to get a C or above in History.  Which will mean putting a lot more effort into the subject than I have been doing, and retaking some of my old papers, but it could well be worth it.

Another thing for me to be happy about is the return of Heroes.  Three episodes into Volume 4, and I’m enjoying it so far.  The current storyline is good, and I think they’ve gotten better at writing characters.  Also, there’s a guy who shoots microwaves, a phrase which conjures up a very amusing mental image.  It doesn’t sound so much like a super power, really, when you word it like that.  More like an obsession.


Actions

Information

2 responses

16 03 2009
museditions

You busy lad; but it’s paid off! An “A”! Congrats! You deserve it; we all know you are a good writer and researcher. Now you have to work harder—well all good works have consequences.😉
As for your uni choice, it does seem that you are letting your intuition partially guide you. I think the environment (town, etc.) is every bit as important as the course, as this place will become your life & home for the next bit. Just my 2p🙂

16 03 2009
B0bbyG

Why, thank you very much Muse!😀 If I manage my time better, I’ve got no excuse not to work harder.

Thank you for your thoughts on the uni. I agree completely. At the moment, I’m thinking of putting down Aberystwyth as my first choice, but I’m not sure.




