Chapter 101 – the rant

23 02 2009

Making Bradley angry is pretty much always a very bad idea.

***

I’m back at school again.  Joy of joys.  In some regards, I’m lucky, because I only have two subjects to worry about, but neither is a subject I’m particularly good at.  Currently, it’s looking like I’ll have to put in a lot of effort to achieve D grades, and I’d much rather have Cs.

Part of my problem is that I’m just not organised.  I don’t get things done.  I’ve never been especially organised, but I’m worse this year.  In an attempt to fix this problem, I’ve bought myself a notebook, which I’ve christened the “Organised Book”.  I’m using it to write to-do lists, mysteries I’m pondering over, dates to remember, a log of all the times my friend has made a gratuitous or unwanted Star Wars reference in conversation (he’s got to be trained not to do that!), and a diary of weird dreams.

The last of these currently contains two entries so far, which are bizarre for entirely different reasons.  The first concerns a dream which ended with my mum going upstairs and advising me not to go to bed too late.  I replied, “Of course not.  I want to get up early tomorrow morning…” and I woke up immediately afterwards.  One of those weird things, I guess.  I distinctly remember the first thing I said after waking up was, “…but not this early!”

The other dream was unusual in a different sense.  I can’t actually remember much about it, but I remember that, in my dream, a certain friend of mine had died several days before.  Almost all my other schoolfriends knew, but I’d only just found out.  When I woke up, I knew I’d been dreaming, but I had this nagging thought that said, well, how did I know that hadn’t happened?  See, all my friends who knew about it in the dream were ones who I hadn’t seen since the start of the half-term break, so it seemed plausible.  Plus when I woke up I was feeling totally drained, like you do when someone really has died.

First thing I did was check Facebook, just to put my mind at rest.  And thankfully, she’d been online recently.  I realise, this was all very silly.  If she really had died, somebody would almost certainly have told me.

All the same, when I saw her again at school today, I had to stop myself from hugging her, because she’s not the sort of person who hugs people often.  Isn’t it strange how much a dream can affect you?

Current listening: Jonathan Coulton, “Code Monkey”


Actions

Information

4 responses

23 02 2009
bbcrown

I like reading your blogs, they are interesting.. funny.. and oh did I say interesting?

23 02 2009
B0bbyG

Thank you very much for your comment! I’m very glad that you found it entertaining!🙂

25 02 2009
museditions

I certainly don’t want to be on her bad side!
***
Yes, your friend might have to be sent to SWRA (Star Wars Reference Anonymous).😉
Your Organised Book is wonderful! I want to steal your idea. I don’t have a SWRA-needing friend (at least, not overly so) but I have other topics I could put in there.
Oh my, what dreams! Have they to do with this thriller you are writing perchance? Your characters are in danger; does that affect you? I’m glad your friend was OK. You did resist hugging her (awww), but did you tell her the dream? I’m not sure I’d want to share that. Sometimes these sorts of dreams DO come true, but I think they usually are a metaphor for something.
I hope you have sweet dreams in future.🙂

25 02 2009
B0bbyG

Scary Bradley is scary?🙂

***

SWRA! Haha, I love it. Well, if he doesn’t learn, that may be the only option we have!

You should get an Organised Book; it’s so useful! It’s also good for note-taking in class.

I don’t think me having dreams is really anything to do with this story. Those were just weird. I’m very glad my friend is OK! I wasn’t going to tell her about the dream, because it seemed like a very strange thing to say. Unfortunately she saw the book today, so she found out anyway. I’m pretty sure she didn’t mind though, so it’s OK. I don’t think my dreams have meanings; they’re generally random. That one disturbed me a lot though, because I’ve never dreamt someone dying before, and it felt very real.

Thank you! Sweet dreams to you too.🙂




