Chapter 93 – the rant

28 01 2009

Honorine Blanchard is yet another new character.

♫ Feed the birds!  Tuppence a bag! ♪

Ah, nostalgia.  Who got that reference?

***

My copy of Gunnerkrigg Court Volume 1: Orientation finally arrived just the other day.  I love it!  It’s so glossy and shiny and new!  I’m reading it very carefully, because it’s so pristine and perfect that I don’t want it to get out of shape.  Don’t you just love a brand new hardback?

Incidentally, if you don’t read Gunnerkrigg Court, I urge you to do so.  Right now.  It’s my absolute favourite comic.  If you’re not as obsessive a fan as I am, you don’t even have to buy it, since all the strips so far are viewable free online on the official website, starting here.


Actions

Information

9 responses

28 01 2009
sulz

the bird man from mary poppins?

28 01 2009
sulz

haha i know what you mean about reading a brand new book delicately. that’s how i treat most of my precious books! i like to keep them as unspoiled as possible.

29 01 2009
museditions

sulz is right, except for gender🙂
I just saw an add for the 45th anniversary edition of Mary Poppins! It’s one of those remastered editions. I think it was pretty colourful all along. I LOVE that film. “Just a spoonful of sugar…”
New books smell nice! If it’s a hardback, you have to break it in properly, you know!🙂
Another new character! I can barely keep up with the ones you already have! I hope you know what you’re about, me lad!
{hehe, It’s good for my brain, actually}😀
Thanks for the link. Haven’t read it but will check it out. Wow, you must be a fan!!!😀

29 01 2009
B0bbyG

@ sulz: Yes to Mary Poppins!😀 Although, as Muse says, bird woman.

I always try to be careful with my books, but somehow they never stay looking new.😦 But this one is extra special because it’s a glossy hardback, so it would seem like a crime if I got it all mishapen!😯

@ muse: I love that movie too! It was always one of my favourite children’s movies!😀

*gasp* My new book doesn’t need breaking in! It needs to be looked after and cared for and kept very safe indeed! (I’m sorry, I realise I’m being daft, but it’s not often I get hardback books!) And yes, it does smell very nice.🙂

I promise, I know what I’m doing (mostly)! If it helps, I’m planning to add a “cast list” soon (probably at the same time as revamping the “About the Story” page). That should hopefully clear up some confusion.

You’re welcome. I am definitely a fan of Gunnerkrigg Court; I adore it!! I think everyone should read it!🙂

29 01 2009
museditions

Oh, dear. I inadvertently alarmed you! I was thinking of a friend I had some time ago, who was as daft, um, I mean, dedicated as you are about books. He claimed that a new hardback should be gently opened, and the pages turned back in several locations throughout the book so that the binding could be “stretched” a bit. He said that it was less stressful upon the binding that way, and would avoid possible breakage that could come from opening the book too far in the beginning and leaving the back part taut and straight.
I’m not kidding; he really said this. Perhaps I should introduce the two of you…No, I haven’t seen him for a long time, and, as it turned out, I otherwise didn’t care for him much.
He may be a bookish sort of freak, after all, but I don’t know if his advice here is sound…
As for me, I can nearly fall into a rage when I see people turn back a corner (or “dog-ear”), or, heaven forbid, WRITE in a book! (Even if it’s their own property, I’d prefer they not do this when I am near). Highlighting and margin notes are just barely OK in textbooks, but I don’t indulge in this behaviour even then!!!😮😀

29 01 2009
sulz

i’ve been reading the webcomic since yesterday. currently on page 409 out of 515!

30 01 2009
B0bbyG

@ muse: Um, wow. I love new books, but I never realised there was such an exact science to reading them! I’m not nearly so extreme as that guy sounds, I swear!

Although writing in my brand new book or folding back the pages would be an absolute travesty. I would NEVER do that! I only ever write on my schoolbooks very lightly, in pencil!🙂

@ sulz: Wow, that’s a lot of pages in such a short space of time! Go you! I take it you’re enjoying it, then?🙂

And you’re on “S1”. Very strange chapter, that one.

30 01 2009
sulz

yeah, good way to spend my one week break for cny.😆 i like it! now i’m annoyed that i actually have to wait for the other strips after clicking non-stop for a big part of yesterday.😦

30 01 2009
B0bbyG

Heh. It’s brilliant, isn’t it? But that’s the problem with story-based webcomics: you can get very impatient waiting for the next installment! Luckily, it updates three times a week.🙂




