Chapter 92 – the rant

26 01 2009

All work and no television would make Johnny a dull boy.

Steel Radar Fury is a science fiction, New South Avenue is a soap opera, and Bella & Bethany is a variety show that almost everyone in Johnny’s world watches.

The Mets are a real British baseball team (the London Meteorites, not the Metropolitan Police).Ā  The Hercynia Halberdiers are fictional, though.

If this chapter seems to portray baseball in a less-than-flattering light, please bear in mind that very few people in the present day UK care about the sport, so Johnny’s interest suggests that it is more popular in the world of the story than it is in real life.Ā  In the real world, British baseball is actually experiencing a decline in popularity.

British baseball has slightly different rules from regular baseball, but in the world of the story, I think they play by the American rules.

***

Gong xi fa cai!


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 01 2009
museditions

Fortunately for you, I’m not much of a Baseball fan, or I might get quite huffy! …Now, if you wrote that way about American Football…šŸ˜‰
I like the names of Johnny’s favorite shows! I think you should write them straight away!šŸ˜€

28 01 2009
B0bbyG

That’s lucky! But don’t get huffy with me; I don’t have any problem with baseball myself! Besides, Johnny is a fan, and in the England of his world they play American rules baseball! It’s just not popular in England. Fact. We have cricket instead, uncultured snobs that we doubtless are.šŸ˜‰

Haha, assuming I had the time or the talent, what would happen to this story if I spent my time writing TV series? Besides, where would I find two presenters named Bella and Bethany?šŸ™‚




