Chapter 84 – the rant

9 01 2009

Ah, the ever cheerful CloudsAreGatheringOverMe.

Or rather, Megan.  Megan’s parents are always worrying about her.  But then, how would you react if your 16-year-old daughter rang you up in the evening (later than she was allowed out) and told you “I’m just going off to London for a bit, I don’t know how long, no, I can’t come back right now.  kthnxbai!”?

***

The snow has all melted by now.  It started to thaw out Thursday afternoon, and now it’s gone.  It’s still cold out though, and there’s a lot of ice on the ground, which is in some ways worse, at least for walking to school.

Current listening: Flobots, “Jetpack”


Actions

Information

7 responses

11 01 2009
The Totton linnet

I’m still reading, I’m just perplexed at the suddeness and speed of events. I don’t think we understand, or can understand, the utter anguish of parents when they don’t know where the kids are, they just imagine the worst.
*
We’ll be lucky if this is the worse winter gets-nice and sunny today 🙂

11 01 2009
B0bbyG

Sorry GD. It had to be sudden and confusing, because part of the plan with this story was that the main characters would end up as fugitives of sorts. I promise everything will be explained eventually.

I was being a bit flippant earlier, but you’re right about the anguish of parents (although I think it does vary from parent to parent). That’s mainly the reason this is (at least thusfar) told entirely from the perspective of the kids (not exactly kids, since Iaru is 18 and Johnny and Bradley are both 17, but I don’t know what else to call them), because I don’t feel confident with the kind of emotional writing that writing from their parents’ perspective would entail.

*

Sunny today, but still cold out! The ground was really sparkly with frost this morning; it was very slippery!

12 01 2009
museditions

Well, HER parents will just be having fits, and I could understand that! Yes, you have ramped up the story quite a bit! Very exciting!
It is hard and slippery to walk on ice, alright. We hardly ever have that particular issue where I live.

12 01 2009
The Totton linnet

I’m out of the teenies this year, but me mum says I’m not too big for a good hiding.😮

12 01 2009
B0bbyG

@ museditions: Exactly! Yes, I suppose I have, although whether that was a good idea remains to be seen! I’m glad you think it’s exciting, thank you!🙂

Ice is so slippery, especially if you live on a hill like me! I don’t imagine that would be a problem quite so often down your way, but it happens all the time in winter around here!

@The Totton linnet: Your mum sounds scary! But you can tell she cares about you that way!🙂

14 01 2009
The Totton linnet

I was huddled with about 6 mates in the front porch passing a fag around [average age 13 1/4 ] when suddenly the door flew open and out charges mum with a stick [she’s only 5ft tall] she chased 7 kids 5 girls and 2 boys down the road whacking whoever’s butt she could, the boys screamed the loudest. We have a good laugh with my mum. All that was loads better than being grounded for 1000 years.😮

14 01 2009
B0bbyG

She sounds like a legend!🙂

I think if I’d been caught smoking at that age, I’d still be grounded now…




