Chapter 83 – Life in hiding

7 01 2009

(johnny07)

Did you see Bizzariarox’s most recent post? If not, I recommend reading it right away. If so, you’ll know that I’m now on the run, along with three other people: Megan (CloudsAreGatheringOverMe), Bradley (bizzariarox) and Iaru (Iaru01). We’re hiding out in East London at the moment. We’ve been staying in the cheapest hotels and guest houses we could find, because while I fortunately had a fair bit of cash on me last Thursday, there’s four of us, and we need to make it last indefinitely. I’ve no idea whether we could be traced from a cash point, but at this stage, I think we’re better off not risking it. It’s already risky that we’re using this computer, not to mention Iaru’s car.

I haven’t spoken to my mum and dad since Thursday. I left them a message by phonecam, saying I was going away for a bit with mates, and not to worry. Then I turned the phonecam off, because from what I’ve heard they’re incredibly easy to track. My parents are probably worried sick. But then, for all we know, staying in contact with family might put them at risk as well.

I don’t think any of us has quite come to terms with our situation yet. That alien rock I sold earlier, of which Iaru is currently in possession, is actually something called a “clef”, and clearly a lot of people want it: the Swords, the Hawkbites, the police, Birrow Fletcha (who obviously isn’t who he says he is), Research Team Seven who kidnapped Bradley while she was in America, and I suspect that burglar who tried to break into my house a while back, as well. Obviously whatever it is, it’s important. Supposedly, it “does” something, although none of us know what. In music, a clef is a key, so maybe it’s the metaphorical key to something? Whatever it is, we can’t just dump it, because it could be our only way out of this mess, and we can’t just give it to anyone, because what if it’s dangerous in the wrong hands? So we don’t have any choice but to hang onto it for now.

We’re in a real mess. We don’t know who we can trust. None of us wants to go to the police, because the police have been behaving so suspiciously.

We still don’t know what happened in the police station. It sure didn’t look like a regular fire. Megan thinks she saw creatures moving in the fire, but I think that was probably just shadows, because none of the rest of us saw anything like that.


Actions

Information

3 responses

7 01 2009
B0bbyG

quipu: You guys need to stay calm. More importantly, you need to go home as soon as possible. As you say, your parents are probably worried sick.

Look after yourselves.

johnny07: That’s slightly easier said than done, you know, but we’ve all basically calmed down now. I agree, but I just don’t think it’s practical or safe to go back home at this point. And like I said, we might end up only putting other people at risk. But thank you, we’ll do our best to take care.

7 01 2009
sulz

good luck. keep yourselves safe and healthy. constipation on the run will not help!

johnny07: Thanks! We’re going to need it. Yeah, we’ll try to stay healthy, constipation would not remotely help! I’m glad someone’s taking the more practical concerns into consideration!

12 01 2009
museditions

I hope you are finding someplace safe to stay! We’re all quite concerned about you. Let me know if you want to stay in my uncle’s beach house in Majorca. Don’t know how you would get there, though…

johnny07: We’re getting by with hotels so far, but we can’t keep this up forever. Well, thank you very much for the offer, but I don’t think that’s really feasible. We’d probably be stopped at the airport!




