New Year’s Resolutions

31 12 2008

Another year ends.  So much seems to have happened in the past year, doesn’t it?  I’m not sure I’m even the same type of person I was last time I wrote a new year’s post.

I’m not normally big on resolutions, but last year I did set myself the following goal:

I’ve resolved to work harder and more efficiently this year, and hopefully become a better person for it.  That means no more wasting time sitting in the study area playing video games and bitching about people.  If I’m going to achieve anything, I’ve got to strive for it.

So, how did that work out?  Well, I certainly put lots of effort in last spring and summer, but then I kind of burnt out at the end of the school year.  This year I’ve been nothing short of apathetic a lot of the time.

These past months, I’ve really not been happy with myself, and I haven’t really done anything about that.  So I’ve decided that this year, I will make some proper resolutions, and I’ll do my best to stick to them.

  • I will not be too critical of other people, or make judgements based on events that are beyond other people’s control.
  • I will not wallow in self pity.
  • I will not let other people push me around.  I can make my own decisions.
  • I will think before opening my mouth.
  • Statements such as “I don’t think you could ever offend anyone” will be interpreted as compliments, not challenges.
  • I will have a part-time job by the end of March, and a full-time job by the end of the year.
  • I will not procrastinate.  Well, not too much.
  • I will take the time to get my head around technology, rather than allowing myself to be mystified by it.  I’ve got an A-level in Media Studies, after all!
  • I will learn to play the guitar properly.
  • I will never allow myself to become narrow minded.
  • I will not drink more than I can handle.
  • I will never lick a table.
  • I will not lose my temper.
  • I will revise for my exams.  Might help.
  • I will get some sleep.
  • Most importantly, I will not be a prat.

There, I think that’s everything covered.  Now for the hard part – living up to them.  That starts now!

…Well, tomorrow.  Yeah, I’ll start working on those tomorrow.

I’d like to say a huge thank you to all of my readers.

(THANK YOU!)

Special thanks go to sulz, museditions, gentledove, Catcjwriter, timethief, Will Rhodes, crazyasuka, raincoaster, bevchen, JRoller online book reviews, theunhappycamper and everyone else who has commented here over the past year.  Your comments mean a lot to me.  Thank you all so very much!

Happy New Year, everybody!😀


Actions

Information

14 responses

31 12 2008
sulz

thank you. likewise your comments in my blog!🙂 i could use some of those resolutions myself, particularly the first couple of them! why do you want a full-time job by the end of the year? wouldn’t you be still studying in uni then? and why had you licked a table??😆

31 12 2008
sulz

oh happy new year bobby!🙂 and an early happy birthday wish!

31 12 2008
B0bbyG

Thank you, you’re welcome.🙂 You know, you could always borrow those resolutions if you want them.:mrgreen:

I’m deferring my application to uni until I’ve got a bit of money, because it’s bloody expensive! Hence the need for a full-time job.

As for table licking, that was an incident which I have not yet been allowed to forget (large quantities of vodka were involved). It made sense to me at the time, I’m sure…

Aw, you remembered my birthday! Thank you very much!😀

Happy new year!!!😀

1 01 2009
sulz

ooh, gap year huh? can’t you get a study loan? my entire college education was funded by government loan, fortunately. haven’t started to pay back the loan though.😛 i plan to do it this month!

rotfl… don’t feel too bad, there are worse things to lick!

i must confess, i read last year’s post.😛 so when exactly is it? so that i can remember it next year!

as for your job, maybe you ought to be a bartender… no table licking incidents for sure, despite being surrounded by so much alcohol.😀

1 01 2009
B0bbyG

I don’t like borrowing more money than I can help. Good for you, paying back the loan. Plenty of people here never pay their university loan back.

I don’t feel bad about the table incident; I’ve done plenty of things that were even more embarrassing!

I’d rather not put my birthday online, if that’s all the same to you. I’m weird like that, sorry. It’s in January. Thank you, though!🙂

I wouldn’t mind that; I have a friend who works in a bar. The hours are really long, though, so I don’t know how well I’d pull that off.

1 01 2009
museditions

Thank you for the thank you! I have really enjoyed reading your blog novel, and, well, everything you write, actually!!!
Your resolutions are great. Haha—you won’t procrastinate *too* much!😉 It’s a good idea to drink just enough, but not too much. And do, by all means, get some sleep! I don’t know if it’s really possible to resolve not to be a prat. Sometimes pratishness just sort of escapes from one, willy-nilly, yeah?
I’d imagined “licking a table” was some sort of British euphemism until I read the other comments.😀

1 01 2009
The Totton linnet

Happy b’day B0bbyG [draws a spiky head] really good wishes for the new year, I have not made resolutions for a few years now w.o.t. for me at least, as a Blairite [given the choices] I always thought the loan was a reasonable thing for the govt to do, after all if you don’t earn you don’t pay back, I opted to work and get money but it’s amazing how that narrows your options, but so much of my study now is pure enjoyment, it’s all swings and merry-go-rounds. Thanx 4 being friends, take care. It’s 8.00am and I’m going to bed 1st time this year {hic}

1 01 2009
B0bbyG

@ Muse: You’re very welcome, and thank you, thank you very much!!!

I’m glad you like them! I was trying to be realistic on the procrastination one.😉 Drinking is good, but drinking alcohol is not always advisable, in my experience. Sleeping is good, too! I can do my darndest not to be a prat, that’s what I can do!🙂

Nope, licking a table means just that. Do I want to know what you thought it meant?

@ GD: Thank you very much, and best wishes to you too!🙂 I don’t normally make resolutions but I thought I should this year, we’ll see how that goes. I’ve never really been a Blairite myself, but I agree there are worse things than the loans. I’d just like to do some proper work before I go off to uni. It sounds like you made the decision which suited you best, so good for you!🙂 And thank you, too! Take care, and have a happy 2009!

1 01 2009
Will Rhodes

Happy New Year, Bobby – may it bring you all you need!

1 01 2009
B0bbyG

Many thanks Will!🙂 A happy and prosperous new year to you too!

2 01 2009
Cat

Thanks for the mention even though I don’t comment much these days!

Happy New Year, may it be a good one!🙂

2 01 2009
B0bbyG

Thank you! A very happy new year to you, too!!🙂

2 02 2009
crazyasuka

“Statements such as “I don’t think you could ever offend anyone” will be interpreted as compliments, not challenges.”

Ohhh that was SO hard for me. Especially because my best friend at the time used to make fun of me because of my inability to offend people.

Happy Birthday! January is over, so you’re definitely a year older by now. And thanks for mentioning me. I haven’t been blogging much lately so I didn’t see these posts. 😦 Take care BobbyG.😀

2 02 2009
B0bbyG

Heh, you sound like me there. Problem is, when people say you couldn’t do something, it generally makes you want to prove them wrong!🙂

Thank you!😀 Yes, I’m 19 now! Thanks for dropping by, take care!🙂




