Chapter 77 – the rant

29 12 2008

Those dastardly police!  Is there no end to their villainy?

Incidentally, Johnny sold the rock for 50,000 euros.  Which to a (by now) 17-year-old boy probably seems like a fortune, but isn’t all that much if this really was a genuine, unique alien artefact, especially considering that a Hercynian euro is worth considerably less than a real-life present day euro.

We’re approaching the end of phase 2 of this story.

***

I went bowling today with some mates who are back from uni over the holidays.  It was nice seeing the guys again, especially considering that it’s been so long that I’d almost forgotten what it was like to hang out with a group of mainly guys.  They hadn’t changed much, although some of us have changed more than others.  I still suck at bowling, and I’m pretty awful at pool, too, although I did win one out of the 4 games I played, so that wasn’t so bad.


Actions

Information

4 responses

29 12 2008
sulz

well, good thing he sold it already. but if i were him i might feel bad for getting the money while he got the rock taken away. then again, since you said it’s not that much money maybe not?

will you be joining these friends in the same uni when you get to uni?

30 12 2008
B0bbyG

From Johnny’s perspective, it’s a lot of money. I think he does feel a bit guilty, but he’s more alarmed and confused than anything else.

No, that’s not how the English university system works, sadly. They’re all at different unis, and at this point, I don’t know what uni I’m going to end up at.

30 12 2008
sulz

oh, you don’t get to choose which uni you end up in, huh? good luck, then! it was the same for me too, but i was very lucky that my course was one of the very few that we had to attend interviews for (most of the courses are just selected based on application). so once i was considered good enough for the course, i wasn’t considered for my other choices. and that has made all the difference in my uni life!🙂

30 12 2008
B0bbyG

We get some choice, but it’s the universities who get to choose who they want to allow in. Mind you, if I’d only got a move on with my application, I’d probably have a much better idea of where I’m going.

I guess that worked out very well for you, which is cool. I’m pretty glad my course doesn’t require me to be interviewed, to be honest!




