Chapter 71 – the rant

23 12 2008

Him again.

Comments on this chapter have been disallowed, as is usual for Renard.

***

Today I saw a movie that I certainly never intended to watch: Twilight.  I am opposed to this series on principle, mainly because it teaches young girls that creepy stalkers make perfect boyfriends, but also because I’m sick of American journalists calling it “the next Harry Potter“, when the Twilight novels aren’t so well written as Harry Potter, and Twilight-mania is largely confined to the USA anyway.

In spite of all this, I was determined to watch the movie with an open mind, if only because I had been forbidden from mocking the film since I was surrounded by Robert Pattinson fans (although they kept calling him Cedric Diggory).

It wasn’t an awful film, although I can’t honestly say I enjoyed it.  Bits of it were good.  The soundtrack was excellent, both in the choice of songs and the original score.  Also, the baseball scene was awesome.  The rest I found fairly dull.  It probably doesn’t help that I’ve never seen the appeal of vampires, much less sparkly ones.

Incidentally, Edward seems to have a very strange definition of vegetarianism.  He uses the word to mean that he doesn’t eat humans, only animals.  Last I heard, deer were not plants.  But hey, maybe they’ve been reclassified by science and I didn’t hear about it.

I also saw the Survivors series finale today.  Very epic and intense.  They had to go and end it on a cliffhanger, though, didn’t they?  I’m very much hoping we’ll get another series.

Current listening: Linkin Park, “Leave Out All the Rest”


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 12 2008
museditions

Ahhh! He’s baaaaack! All very mysterious. I’m starting to have the feeling that you’ll be stringing us along for YEARS! It’s all so intriguing it could very well hold my attention for that long.😉
I have not seen the film of which you write. Don’t let the US push you around about Harry though. Not a big vampire fan myself, except I watched all the campy episodes of Dark Shadows, as the SciFi channel re-runs them now and again, and for some reason liked those.

25 12 2008
B0bbyG

He is indeed. To be perfectly honest, I don’t know how long this story will last, but I can easily see it taking another year before I reach the end. Thank you very much! I’m glad you’re enjoying it!🙂

I realise I sounded very negative regarding Twilight, because it wasn’t really my thing at all, but if you enjoyed the Harry Potter movies, you might well enjoy Twilight as well. It’s in a similar vein, albeit more gothic and more romance-oriented. And if it turns out you don’t like the movie, the soundtrack is at least worth a listen.

My friends are all vampire fans, so they loved the movie. I’ve never even heard of Dark Shadows! I guess that’s what I get for not having the SciFi Channel!




