Chapter 64 – On Being Caged

8 12 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

Right now I’m wondering if I’ll ever be allowed to leave the house ever again, except for school.

Everyone is in a panic about the “Mictlantecuhtli” killings, but my parents, as usual, are more worried than everyone else. They’ve declared that I’m not allowed to leave the house when it’s not light out – and this being the winter, it gets dark before tea time.

I get that they only want me to be safe. The thought of these Aztec cultists is absolutely terrifying. All the same though, it does kind of… well, suck.

You know, back in Hyperborea, I don’t think not being allowed out would really have bothered me. I mean, OK I was younger then, and they didn’t really like me going out in the evenings there anyway, but I never felt any desire to. Since I’ve got here, I’ve just felt so much more independent, and I’ve gone shopping with friends, and eaten at cafes, and watched movies at the cinema. It was fun while it lasted.

Here’s hoping they catch the noxious lunatics responsible for all these attacks soon!


Actions

Information

One response

9 12 2008
museditions

I know your parents are concerned for your safety, but they cannot keep you locked up forever! I hope the crimes will be solved soon, for everyone’s sake. It does seem a shame that just when you are making friends, there, and wanting to go out, your parents are getting…cautious😕

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Maybe they can’t, but sometimes I think they’d try! I think everyone is hoping they’ll solve the crimes soon.

Yeah, but then they’ve always been cautious. They’re like that. It’s nice that they care about me, but sometimes I wish they’d just acknowledge that I can look after myself a bit, you know?




