Chapter 62 – Story Time (part 1)

3 12 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

 I’ve decided to channel my creative energies into something more positive than my usual whining. To this end, I’m beginning writing a story, which I will be posting here in occasional instalments. It’s a bit childish, but it should be fun.

~

CRASH!

What a horrible noise, thought Princess Keira Penguin as she opened her eyes and peered blearily at her darkened bedroom. What could possibly have made it?

The room was silent and still. Everything was where it should be – the clothes strewn neatly over the carpet, the hated schoolbooks scattered artistically about the place, and the assorted jewellery and precious stones piled lovingly on the dressing table. And yet, something was definitely wrong.

Keira sat up, and rubbed her eyes. Think. What could have made that sound? Something along the hallway, perhaps?

She listened carefully, and could discern the faint sounds of activity coming from somewhere in the palace. Were those raised voices?

Another noise, much nearer, made her jump. Someone had rapped on the window!

“Who’s there?” she demanded.

“It’s me,” replied a familiar voice from outside the window.

“Orlando?” cried Keira, instantly recognising the voice as belonging to her close friend and personal bodyguard ninja. “What are you doing out there?” She leapt out of bed and hurried over to the window.

“No time to explain!” the ninja monkey replied. “And please try to keep quiet, your highness! You are in great danger here! We must hurry!”

“Hurry where?” whispered Keira.

“Somewhere that isn’t here,” said Orlando impatiently. “Please, your highness, we have to go, now!”

Keira felt rather baffled and alarmed, but nevertheless quickly snatched up her favourite tiara and her best pair of roller skates (she never left home without them) and pulled open the window. She looked out at the ground below. It was a long way down.

“Orlando, how am I going to get down there?” Keira asked.

“I can climb,” replied Orlando. “Get on my back, and I can carry you to safety.”

“Safety from what?” Keira hissed. She was no fan of heights.

“The castle is under attack,” replied the monkey. “Please hurry, we need to get out of here, fast!”

Keira lowered herself carefully out the window just in time, for at that moment, the bedroom door was flung open and a group of reptilian individuals burst in, waving their swords menacingly.

“Hold on tight, your highness,” Orlando whispered. Keira didn’t need to be told. She was terrified of falling.

With one leap, Orlando flew from the castle wall and landed in a nearby tree. Then he set off, swinging from branch, with Keira clinging on for dear life, her eyes tightly shut.

 To be continued…


Actions

Information

One response

4 12 2008
museditions

This is a great story! I’m already hooked! I didn’t know you were a writer.
I so want a personal bodyguard ninja monkey! Not so much a tiara, though…
Love the phrase “…clothes strewn neatly over the carpet…” hehe.

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Oh, thank you so much! I’m not much of a writer, but I try.

Haha, I thought the ninja monkey would be cool! I don’t think a tiara would suit me either, but I thought it was the sort of thing a princess penguin would wear!

I’m glad you liked it. That’s really encouraging! Thank you!




