Chapter 60 – Mictlantecuhtli – my thoughts

28 11 2008

(johnny07)

So, I’m assuming everyone heard about the latest body that was found with an “m” on his head on Tuesday? That one wasn’t far from here at all.

In the letter that was in the news, it said that the victims had been claimed by Mictlantecuhtli, “the god of death”, which is why everyone thinks the murders were committed by some kind of cult.

I’ve done a bit of research into that name. Mictlantecuhtli, Lord of Mictlan. He was the Aztec god who ruled over the depths of the underworld, where the bones of the dead lay. He was a skeletal figure with huge, wide eyes, and was often depicted as bloodstained or wearing a necklace of eyeballs. Charming, no?

His wife was Mictecacihuatl, the skull-faced Lady of the Dead. He was associated with owls, spiders, bats and dogs (dogs accompanied souls to the underworld).

The letter in the papers claims that Mictlantecuhtli is a benevolent god, but the stories I’ve been reading make him sound vindictive and malicious. He was worshipped largely out of fear, and the Aztecs would offer human sacrifices to keep him happy. Granted, the Aztecs seem to have been fond of human sacrifices, but all the same, he doesn’t seem to have been a very nice guy.

Interesting though that was, it doesn’t tell us anything about who is committing the murders. Clearly not someone who is mentally stable. Nobody in their right mind believes that an actual god is claiming these people. Even if I was remotely religious, which I’m not, the murders showed obvious signs of being committed by a human. The culprit or culprits obviously made an effort to cover their tracks, but they can’t hide the fact that the victims died of strangulation and stabbing, for example. And I somehow doubt that a god would use a marker pen.

I guess the most likely explanation is that the murders are being committed by a cult, or maybe one fanatic. Perhaps the murders are actually sacrifices, and the “m” on their foreheads is a signal to Mictlantecuhtli? But that doesn’t explain the letter. If you’re going to engage in cult rituals, why risk blowing your cover by sending a letter to the press and telling the world what you’re up to? It seems more like an egotistical gesture than anything.

This whole thing really bothers me. I mean, is it safe to even leave the house? Who knows what kind of nutters are out there? As it is, I never really did much socially in the evenings, but now every time I even go outside I’m scared, like some psycho could be waiting around every corner with a knife and a marker pen.


Actions

Information

One response

29 11 2008
museditions

I must admit, as fascinating as Aztec culture is, I wouldn’t choose to emulate their religious practices. Isn’t it odd, anyway, that a cult would form around Aztec ritual in Hercynia? Yes, do watch out for those marker pens!😉 Seriously though, I’m very glad you got out of there alright, and that you are watching your…assets. I hope the police figure this out.

johnny07: Me neither! Yeah, now you mention it, that is really odd. Heh, marker pens of death! Shouldn’t laugh though, really.

Got out of where? I’m taking care of myself, if that’s what you mean. I hope he police sort it out too. I have to say, though, I don’t have much faith in the police around here. I suppose if we’re lucky, the killer will do something stupid and get himself caught.




