Chapter 59 – the rant

26 11 2008

If Bradley is so tired, she shouldn’t be posting at this late hour, but I really didn’t have any choice.

Bradley seems to come in for more than her fair share of nasty experiences, doesn’t she?  First stalkers, then kidnappers and now murderers.  One of the pitfalls it’s easy to fall into as a writer is to sympathise with your characters so much that you can’t bear to see them suffering.

The name “Mictlantecuhtli” hasn’t been mentioned before in the story, although it did appear in one of the tags used by Johnny.  That’s because this is a news item that everyone in Hercynia would already know about, so Johnny and Clouds didn’t think it necessary to mention that name.

***

I saw the first episode of a new BBC drama series the other day.  It’s called Survivors, and it’s really good so far.  It’s about a group of people who are the last survivors of an epidemic that has wiped out over 90 percent of the world’s population.  Apparently it’s based on an older series, which was in turn based on a book by Terry Nation, the man who created the Daleks (no, I don’t mean Davros).

I visited Coleg y Drindod (Trinity College), a.k.a. Carmarthen uni, today.  It seems kind of small, and it’s in the middle of nowhere, a bit like where I live, actually, but the Creative Writing course they offer there is really good.  I spoke to one of the lecturers there, and he gave me a very long and interesting talk about the course, as well as the college, university in general, course interviews, living in Wales, etc.  He seemed a really nice guy, and I was honoured that he was prepared to give up so much of his time to help me, but this did mean that my mum and I were at the university for much longer than we anticipated, and I had a friend’s 18th birthday party to get back to (I swear, everyone is turning 18 lately!).

Then we got held up by traffic, and there were two accidents, and loads of roadworks, and I arrived home half an hour late for the party, which wouldn’t have mattered nearly so much if the party hadn’t began with a sit down dinner.  Furthermore, I still needed to dress up as a walrus, as required by my party invite.  This could have been achieved more speedily if I hadn’t received a phone call from one of my friends asking me where the hell I was while I was trying to change.

As it was, I didn’t have time to wrap the present, and my walrus tusks were mauve drinking straws because I couldn’t find white ones, and I forgot to stuff my suit with a cushion, so everyone thought I was meant to be James Bond or some kind of pimp, but no matter.  I got to the party just over an hour late (Google Maps’ directions suck), and it was great fun.

It was a very odd party, actually.  It was kind of like being 6 years old again.  We were all dressed as characters from Alice in Wonderland or Through the Looking-Glass (the birthday girl was Alice).  We had jelly – fortunately there was still some left for me! – and ice-cream, and we played party games like pass the parcel.  It was probably the nicest, most innocent party I have been to in some time.  Well, OK, not entirely innocent, but as innocent as you could reasonably expect some of the people present to be.

Anyway, I’ve only just got back, which is why this is being posted so late in the day.


Actions

Information

2 responses

27 11 2008
museditions

Haha—Davros, indeed!😉 I want to see the new series! I do enjoy speculative fiction. So, you’re thinking of college in Wales! Do you live near there now? Do you speak Welsh?
Your story of the party, and getting to it, made me laugh and laugh! It’s a short story in itself. The way you just throw in “Furthermore, I still had to dress up as a walrus…” What?!? Of course you did, don’t we all as we prepare for parties!😀 What an interesting concept for the party. I would love to see pictures, mauve tusks and all. I imagine Alice doesn’t drink alcohol, only tea, right?

27 11 2008
B0bbyG

I’m sure you’d enjoy Survivors, it’s excellent.

I live in Gloucestershire, which borders on Wales, so it is close. Welsh isn’t spoken here, though, and I know only a few random words of Welsh. If I went there, I’d want to take lessons in speaking the language.

I’m glad you enjoyed it.🙂 It was pretty hectic getting there, you know! Alice drank lemonade, actually. My friend the Cheshire Cat had something of a breakdown when he found out that there wouldn’t be any booze!




