Chapter 57 – the rant

21 11 2008

Silly Bradley.  Fictional characters never get to enjoy normal lives!

Wonder what Bradley is so happy about…

***

I didn’t like Wednesday’s episode of Heroes very much.  It was far too dependant on continuity, and they still screwed up – Elle was vicious and psychotic when we first saw her, so her personality in that episode was a complete rewrite.  Still, I guess it had its moments.  I like Angela and Linderman more now than I used to.

Yesterday I donated blood for the first time ever, which was an interesting experience.  It was funny, because when I got there, I saw three of my friends sat waiting to donate there.  We hadn’t arranged to meet up or anything!  It was a weird coincidence, but one I was grateful for, because I think I would have been a lot more nervous without people to talk to.

All the same, I was still pretty nervous.  When it was my turn to give blood (I was the last of the four of us), the nurse thought I looked so worried and asked me if my friends had dragged me along, and told me that I didn’t have to donate if I didn’t want to.  I assured her that I was fine, that I had come of my own choice, and that I wanted to donate.

Everyone always says it doesn’t hurt.  I didn’t believe them, but to my surprise, it really didn’t; not in the slightest.  I was determined not to look at the blood coming out, but in the end I couldn’t help myself.  I turned my head to wave at my friends, who were sat at a table eating biscuits, and I saw the tube sticking out of my arm; the tube had turned red.  The situation seemed so absurd – dude, that’s my blood! – that I burst out laughing, and I couldn’t stop for some time.

Of the four of us, only one of us had given blood before, and she was the only one who managed to stay calm and composed the whole time (of the other two, one almost fainted, and the other couldn’t stop talking very fast).  There was a huge box of biscuits on the table, and we ate our way through rather more than our fair share.  So while I expect the nurses were glad to see young people turning up – it’s mainly older people who donate – I think they were even more relieved to see us go!

You know, I felt so elated afterwards.  It’s a great feeling, you know?  Knowing that by donating you have probably saved someone’s life.  As I said at the time: “Go us!”

I saw a friend at school today who I hadn’t seen in ages, so that was cool.  She’d only come in to talk to one of the teachers about something, but it was nice to see her again.  There are so many people who I just haven’t seen since they finished their A2s.

Everyone seems to be turning 18 lately.  In a bit I’m heading into town for yet another friend’s birthday celebrations.


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 11 2008
sulz

simple: bradley is in love!

go bobby! that is EXACTLY how i felt when i donated blood the first time. and yup, it really doesn’t hurt… though it feels freaky when you feel the needle enter your arm! i’ve donated 3 times so far and i’m definitely donating more! it’s one charity/community service i feel passion for.😀 i mean, you have nothing to lose when you donate blood! (okay, you do lose some blood but your body will produce enough to replace them.)

22 11 2008
B0bbyG

My lips will have to remain sealed (and my keys unpressed) regarding that subject, I’m afraid.

Blood donors high five!😀 Yeah, it did feel strange, just not painful. That’s awesome, sulz. I’m definitely going to donate more as well!




