Chapter 39 – Relief

24 10 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

FREEDOM!!!

I’ve just finished my last day of this term. Whew!

I was pretty tired today. I didn’t feel like going in at all, but skipping school was out of the question (although some of my friends did. They abandoned us!)

I had a horrible headache this morning. I don’t know whether that means I’ve got a bit of a hangover – I don’t really know what they’re like – or whether I’m just tired. I suspect the latter. It is the end of term, after all.

One of my friends had a party yesterday. I never used to get invited to parties. Sad but true. Yes, I was quite pathetic, wasn’t I? So naturally, I was a bit apprehensive about this one. Especially given that there were no adults around, that there was alcohol, and that there were some people there I didn’t know very well.

Fortunately, it wasn’t really all that wild. Well, no, it wasn’t remotely wild. To be honest, I found it a bit boring. It seemed more an excuse to get drunk than anything else. I didn’t drink very much; I didn’t get the appeal. I don’t think I was the only one. I drank a little, but I stopped when I started to feel it was affecting me. I don’t think I was capable of walking in a straight line, or staying stood up for very long, which I found a bit disturbing.

My parents weren’t too happy about any of this, but fortunately all I had to endure was a slightly stern lecture before heading off, and a slightly sterner one this morning.

This last day has been OK. We were just getting on with coursework. Everyone was in the frame of mind where they’re anticipating the end of term and don’t really feel up to doing any work.

I’m expected to be getting on with plenty of work this next week, though. I have an essay to write for English, about Frankenstein, which probably won’t be too difficult. I have to work on my collages project for art, and that includes research, unfortunately. I also need to be thinking about getting hold of some musicians for music technology, and contact them. I have no idea what I’m going to do about that! It’s pretty daunting.


Actions

Information




