Chapter 36 – the rant

17 10 2008

I think autumn is very nice too.

I didn’t have to record any actual music for music technology until near the end of the AS course, but I decided it would be more interesting to throw Clouds in at the deep end.

***

Wednesday wasn’t a bad day for TV this week.  Heroes was good; Sylar is chillingly brilliant, and I loved Ando’s line about being awesome, even though I think he and Hiro both screwed up badly there.  Wednesday was also the Desperate Housewives finale, which was fairly dark, but entertaining.  It’s not a show I normally follow, but the preview of the next series was quite intriguing.

***

It’s funny what mix-ups that can occur from the use of vague language.  Specifically, I’m thinking of words such as “uniform”, “dress code” and “dressing up”.

Today was supposedly a “non-uniform” day at school.  My tutor didn’t tell us anything about this, but several people from other tutor groups had mentioned it.  A friend of mine said that the school expected us to be “dressing up”, as opposed to “dressing down” (he also said that he thought that the school should eff off, as opposed to on) because of a boy in the year below who had suffered a crippling injury, and that money raised would go towards his treatment.

Now, I have no problem with donating money to help someone who has been injured, but it seemed rather insulting that we were expected to pay for the privilege of wearing a formal outfit to school, even though there’s no rule prohibiting us from doing that the rest of the time.  The rules prohibit male students from wearing jeans, hoodies (including hooded jackets made from the same type of material), shirts without collars, shorts and trainers.  Girls, who technically belong to a different school and have a much more lenient dress code, are allowed to wear all of those things, providing they don’t bare their shoulders (according to staff, this is because bare shoulders look like boobs.  I really wish I was making this up).  The reason hoodies are banned is because they make us look like gangstas from the ghetto, but suits are OK, because gangsters never wear suits, do they? 9_9;

Anyway, I don’t have a suit, and I decided there was no way I was coming in wearing formal clothes when nobody else would, so I decided just to come in wearing regular clothes and donate money anyway.

This morning, however, I was so unsure of what to wear that I ended up just pulling on the first things I could find out of my wardrobe.  They weren’t compliant with the dress code, but never mind, it was non-uniform day!

On my way to my form room, I noticed a number of people in strange outfits.  One boy was dressed as a Jedi.  Another boy was dressed as a pirate, and another was dressed as a ninja.  There was even someone dressed as an Islamist militant with a plastic AK-47.  Several boys were wearing their old boy’s school uniforms, and one boy was wearing a girls’ school uniform, complete with skirt.  It was at this point that it occurred to me that my friend might have misinterpreted the phrase “dressing up”.

When I reached my tutor room, my form tutor immediately said words to the effect of “Jeans?  Hoodie?  Trainers?  No collar?  Go home and change at once!”  So I turned around and headed back.  On the way, I met my friend who had told me about the “non-uniform” day.  He was wearing a black collared shirt, a tie, and a pair of faded blue jeans, and he pointed out that I was going the wrong way and would be late for registration.  I told him about the form tutor, and he pointed out that the dress code didn’t apply on “non-uniform” days (Sixth Formers don’t have a uniform, so it had to mean no dress code).

I decided to go back and stand up to my tutor.  When I got there however, it was to find him passing a donations envelope around to a confused tutor group – all in dress code clothing, apart from the dude in the ninja outfit – and explaining about the non-uniform day.  I put some money in, and he said that he supposed now I was going to claim that I was dressed up.  There was no point in trying to explain, so I said I was, and he let me stay.

Later that day, a friend from the nearby college visited.  He asked me what my costume was.  I told him I was dressed as myself when not at school.

But really, I couldn’t help thinking that if the school had just told us we were supposed to be dressing up, and clarified what they meant by that, I could have avoided a lot of hassle.


Actions

Information

3 responses

18 10 2008
sulz

haha, i’m still quite muddled about the whole dressing up bit! and how does shoulders resemble boobs?? i thought english schools are pretty liberal about stuff like this! i mean, shoulder-baring aren’t cleavage or midriff-baring, which happens a lot in schools too i bet.

18 10 2008
museditions

This sounds like one of the stranger days ever had. One would think they’d publish a memo outlining what they have in mind.
I know you live in a different country than I, but I’d always thought England was on the same planet! Boobs and shoulders are rather different things where I come from!😀
I’m certainly glad you were able to get through the day with all your clothes on, as it were.😉

18 10 2008
B0bbyG

@ sulz: I think they meant “dressing up” in the sense of wearing fancy dress – you know, silly costumes and the like – but I’m not sure. They never bothered to explain it to any of us.

The sixth form dress code is one of the stupidest sets of rules I have ever been forced to abide by. I have no idea how shoulders are supposed to resemble boobs; that’s not something that is explained in the dress code itself, but rather a “justification” teachers keep giving for the “no bared shoulders” rule. It’s mental. Midriff baring is banned too, but no mention is made of cleavage. There is a rule about “appropriate coverage”, but it’s so vague that teachers have given up trying to enforce it, apart from banning bared shoulders and midriffs. Girls get off easy, really, compared to the rules boys have to put up with.

English schools actually tend to be very keen on uniforms, but some sixth forms let you go without. Unfortunately, I attend a joint sixth form which contains students from both a boys’ grammar school and a girls’ grammar school, and they tend to be quite conservative with regard to appearances and behaviour, especially the boys’ school. It’s because they like to think they’re a posh school (they aren’t).

@ museditions: It was fairly odd, yes. Oh no, my school is extremely disorganised. They aren’t good with memos.

Sometimes I wonder what planet some of the staff are from, or at least what century. Boobs and shoulders are completely different things here as well!

Thank you. Well, I wasn’t exactly going to take them off, was I?😉




