Chapter 36 – Autumn

17 10 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

Hercynia is beautiful in autumn. The leaves fall like gold and orange snowflakes. I’ve always loved the sight of trees in autumn season, but in Hercynia it truly looks something special, particularly in the parks.

Of course, the locals just seem to regard all the fallen leaves as an irritation that needs clearing out the way. I’ve noticed that they’ve had to send canal sweepers (fluorescent yellow with green stripes, just like the street sweepers) around to clear the leaves out of the smaller canals, which I guess was a novel sight, seeing as there weren’t any canals in my old town.

What is it that makes autumn so beautiful? Is it all the colours? I think that’s probably a part of it, but I’m not sure. I think the main reason I love autumn so much is that it makes me feel faintly sad. I like slight sadness. It’s a healthy emotion to have. It makes me feel calm and contemplative. The beauty of autumn is that it is merely a brief transition phase before winter kicks in.

Unfortunately, now is perhaps not the best time for me to be meditating on the fleetingness of autumn. As a matter of fact, I’m in a tricky situation with one of my school subjects, music technology. We’re supposed to be recording a piece of music as part of our coursework, but I don’t know any musicians around here, and if I did, I’d still need to pluck up the nerve to ask them to play on my recording. It’s really daunting!


Actions

Information

One response

18 10 2008
museditions

Ah, a bittersweet tale. I would help you with your music, but, alas, I live too far away! I love autumn colors, too. I don’t get to see them much where I live, but I can watch them on vid. I hope you are able to complete your project.🙂

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Yes. Aww, thank you very much! I think that is possibly true of all the people who commented here, sadly. Autumn colour leaves make everything look pretty! It’s a shame you don’t get to see them much.

Thanks, I hope so too!🙂




