Chapter 24 – Different

19 09 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

Hi again! I’m in a slightly reflective mood today, and there are a few things I need to get out of my system. Yes, this is THAT kind of post. You have been warned!

I’m still getting used to this place. Not that it isn’t absolutely wonderful, but it’s a lot different from where I used to live.

For a start, the trees. I mean, sure, there were lots of trees back home, but here they’re all over the place! In the parks, in people’s front gardens, by the pavement, by the canal, on roundabouts, in the most random of places. It’s really strange.

Also, the road sweepers. They’re yellow and stripy! Whose idea was that? What happened to plain green? These ones look like some kind of fluorescent yellow and green sweeper bee!

The clothes here are silly, too. On cold days it’s fine, and people wear the sorts of things you expect people to wear in cold weather, but when it’s sunny, people wear the most bizarre outfits. Where I come from, clothes are supposed to actually COVER you. I mean, I’m certainly not complaining or anything, but I hope nobody expects me to dress like that!

This is going to sound really pathetic, but yet another thing that’s different about this place is that people here actually like me. Some of them do, anyway. Back in Hyperborea, nobody even stood up for me. Occasionally someone would be nice to me because they felt sorry for me, but I never really had any friends. That was my fault, I suppose, because I wasn’t exactly nice to anyone else. I didn’t trust them, and I was too shy to pay them any notice.

That’s the thing that’s most different about this Hercynia: a brand new friendly, cheerful Clouds! The problem with that is that I feel guilty, like I’m somehow deceiving people. I can’t help thinking that if they knew what I used to be like, they wouldn’t like me at all.

I don’t know, maybe I should trust people more.

Anyway, sorry about the rant. I promise I’ll be more agreeable next time I post!

See ya!


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2008
gentledove

You’ll see [she winks and taps her nose in that incredibly annoying way]

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Uh, sure, if you say so!

21 09 2008
museditions

I find it fascinating that you feel you are being deceptive by being bright and cheery! Perhaps you weren’t where you lived before, but here’s an opportunity to be much happier (in spite of stripy road sweepers and weird clothes, LOL)

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Hehe, you have a much more positive way of looking at it. Thanks for the positiveness!




