Chapter 21 – Burgled!

12 09 2008

(johnny07)

Last night, we were burgled. Well, someone attempted to burgle our house, but “Attempted Burglary!” wouldn’t have made for such a snappy title.

I woke up in the night, and there was this shadowy hand, reaching in through my bedroom window. For a moment I thought I must be dreaming or imagining it, but then I realised what must be happening and I was absolutely terrified.

The hand reached for something on the windowsill and I said, “Oi!”, and was answered by this weird sound, more like a hiss than anything else. Then the hand snatched up a paperweight off the desk and threw it at me. I just barely caught it, then I picked up my baseball bat and hit the hand with it as hard as I could. The hand withdrew. I looked out the window, but there was nobody there, just an empty street. As you can imagine, I was pretty freaked out. I checked the window, and the frame around the lock was all warped, like someone had tried to melt through it. Weird thing is, it wasn’t wide enough for a person to fit through, so I think they must have been trying to take something off the windowsill.

Anyway, I told the police the whole story. We’re having a new lock fixed on the window even as I type this. I’ve also moved everything off the windowsill and put it somewhere safer.

But as you can imagine, I’m still a bit freaked out, and really, really tired.


Actions

Information

4 responses

12 09 2008
gentledove

you looked out the WINDOW? what is the matter with you? what if he had a gun?, me I’d still be under the bedclothes screaming.

johnny07: I know, it was stupid. I was panicking, I wasn’t thinking straight.

12 09 2008
sulz

haha, i don’t know why, but voldemort came to my mind when i read the part about the hand. i’m sure he wouldn’t throw a paperweight at you though. come to think of it, he isn’t the type to sneak about like that either… haha, i don’t know.

johnny07: You mean the “Harry Potter” character? Nah, it wouldn’t be his style. And this guy was MUCH scarier!

13 09 2008
museditions

Whoa, I’d be VERY freaked out. It sounds sort of interdimensional or something!😕

johnny07: Believe me, I was. It was probably the scariest thing that has ever happened to me! I’ve had some time to calm down a bit since, thankfully.

Interdimensional, huh? What, you think the burglar was a doppelganger Johnny with a goatee?

29 09 2008
B0bbyG

quipu: What was on the windowsill?

johnny07: Just some random junk, nothing you’d think would be worth stealing.




