Chapter 20 – Windmills on the Skyline

10 09 2008

(CloudsAreGatheringOverMe)

Hello again, you wonderful people! Welcome back!

Some of my favourite things about Hercynia are the windmills. They’re so cool. Back home, I always liked the turbine field that stood on the west edge of town, but they were nothing compared to the ones here. The windmills here dominate the skyline. They look really pretty in photos, but when you get closer, they’re actually a lot bigger than you’d think. They don’t look like regular turbines; they’re like proper Dutch windmills. They’re so cool.

Our house is quite a long way from the centre of town, not far from the Colworth Tower. Yesterday, my mum and dad thought it would be a cool idea to go up to the top of the tower and watch the sun set over the city. It was beautiful seeing the windmills silhouetted over the horizon as the sky turned golden.

I am truly in love with this island.


Actions

Information

2 responses

11 09 2008
museditions

Glad you’re settling in and liking where you live! “Windmills at Sunset” that does sound really lovely.

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Thank you!!! I’m very glad too!

“Windmills at Sunset” sounds like a good name for a rock band! Or maybe a poem!

12 09 2008
gentledove

poem? I’ve still got burgle and gurgle on my brain-I know you’re not Johnny07 [ I’m one of those people that you don’t know what the blithering ‘eck they are on about]

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe: Yeah, but I’m not sure where burgle and gurgle come into it. What funny words!! I’m afraid I don’t know who Johnny07 is; my name is CloudsAreGatheringOverMe. You’re right, I don’t have a clue what you are on about, but thanks for your comment!!!




