Chapter 16 – the rant

1 09 2008

This is the second of two chapters posted today.  If you haven’t read Chapter 15, I strongly recommend reading that one first.

You may well wonder why, given that it’s two POVs of the same day, but I thought you should be allowed to form your own first impression of Megan before finding out who that was.

But wait a minute!  If Megan and CloudsAreGatheringOverMe are the same person, doesn’t that mean…

“What is the meaning of this?!” – I hear you cry.  Or rather I don’t, but I imagine you do.  Sorry, my imagination can be a little melodramatic.

Well, a funny thing about names is that parents sometimes give girls traditionally male names, but almost never give boys traditionally female names.  This means that once a name becomes known as a girl’s name, it’s normally only a matter of time before it becomes an exclusively female name.  This is the fate that befell the originally male names Madison and Joyce.  Blaise, Robin and Tyler all look to be going the same way.  Curiously, names that undergo this process very often end with the suffix -ey: Courtney, Ashley and Sidney, for example.

So in the future, it’s not entirely implausible that even the name “Bradley” will become exclusively female.

I did warn you not to make assumptions.😉

CloudsAreGatheringOverMe has allowed comments this time around.  Of course, she hasn’t yet disclosed her real name in her blog.


Actions

Information

7 responses

2 09 2008
gentledove

You ARE evil, I’m right back to square one, I want to whisper some qs [because everyone will think I’m dumb and laugh] but shhh, is bizariox and cloudsarebefuddlingmeagain GIRLS? oh no -I’m actually embarassed about this-😦

2 09 2008
B0bbyG

Haha, sorry gentledove. *whispers* Yes, they are girls.

But don’t be embarrassed! The natural assumption was that Bradley was male.

2 09 2008
gentledove

I’m relieved, hope BGs went off ok :)<<this not a pleasant smile :)<<this is

2 09 2008
gentledove

BGs day

2 09 2008
B0bbyG

First day back was fine, thank you.🙂 Not a lot happened.

Those smilies look the same to me…😕

3 09 2008
museditions

Well, yeahhhhh, evil one! The names Beverley and Lesley are almost exclusively female in the US—don’t know about UK. But Bradley??? Humph!
That highlighting thing was cool. I’d forgotten one could do that.🙂

3 09 2008
B0bbyG

Aye, I’m pretty sure those are mainly female over here, too, although neither is a very common name in the UK anyway. I have heard of male Lesleys.

To be honest, it just amused me to make “Bradley” a female name, since “Brad” strikes me as quite a masculine name.🙂 But people are calling girls “Tyler” and “Sidney” nowadays, and I always thought of those as being male names as well.

Cheers. I think I’ll remove the highlighting thing now; it was just there because I’d posted two chapters on the same day, so there was a chance people would accidentally skip Chapter 15.




