Meme time!

9 06 2008

I realise I should be revising right about now, but I can’t be doing revision all the time.  Anyway, I’ve been tagged by sulz to do a meme.  This is my first time, so I’m hoping it will be gentle…😉

The Expansionist Meme

Please thoughtfully consider the following, and choose one item for each of the categories below. (Be sure to describe your reasons for choosing)

  • One religious work from a non-familiar tradition you’ll read:

A tricky question, right off the bat.  I don’t actually know much about religious texts, so I’m not totally aware of what texts exist, and which ones I can read without it being deemed sacrilegious.  So no promises!

I’m curious about the Sikh sacred text, the Guru Granth Sahib.  It sounds a very interesting read.  Unfortunately, I gather that in order to fully understand it, it should be read in its original languages, none of which I understand.  To be honest, I’m curious about most religious texts.

  • One music video–that you like–from your “least likely to listen to’ genre:

I will listen to just about anything, but disco is definitely an example of a genre I don’t seek out actively, so…  how about Stayin’ Alive?  It’s a pretty cool video.

Although, I can’t help wondering how their voices even go so high pitched!

  • A book from a genre you almost never read, that you have read, or you will read (promise!):

I don’t often read detective or mystery fiction, but I have read The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I wasn’t a fan, but my tastes have since broadened considerably, so perhaps it’s time I gave Holmes another chance.

  • Somewhere you’d never thought to go on holiday/vacation, and why it might be fun to go there:

Off the top of my head, Rome.  I’d never really considered Rome as a holiday destination, but lots of people do go on holiday there, so it must be pretty good.  I’d be particularly interested in the historical buildings there.

  • A specific food you’ve never tried, but will because of this meme, honest!:

Uh… banana on toast with cinnamon.  That sounds nice.  In fact, I think I’ll make myself some right here, right now!

  • A sport or game you really hate, or haven’t tried yet, but are willing to give one more go:

Fencing.  I’ve never tried it, and it’s never really appealed, but I know a number of people who say it’s a lot of fun, so I’ll give it a shot if I get the opportunity.

  • A style of dance you probably won’t try (we won’t make you promise on this one):

I’m glad I don’t have to promise, since there’s no telling what I’ll do after consuming a sufficient quantity of alcohol… but, much as I love folk traditions, I think it’s safe to say that I will never do a sword dance.  I wouldn’t want to make too much of a fool of myself.

  • A career or job you don’t feel you’re suited for, and why:

Mathematician.  I’m hopeless at maths!

  • An item that’s “thinking out of the box’ for this meme that hadn’t been included:

 OK… outside the box, huh?  Um… how about:

A movie you are going to watch in a style you don’t normally watch:

I don’t watch monster movies, but I’m planning to watch Cloverfield when I get around to it, because my friends kept talking about how much they enjoyed it.  There, that ought to count.

***

Well, that’s that.  I am no longer a meme virgin.

While I’m at it, here’s another meme which MusEditions suggested I could answer, penned by the many-talented sulz:

The bloggerdygook Meme

1. What does gobbledygook mean to you?

“Nonsense”, which is pretty much what I’d expect the dictionary to tell me it means.  For some reason, though, I always think it could also represent the sound a turkey makes.

2. What do you like about yourself?

I can be quite creative and imaginative at times.

3. What activity do you enjoy doing, that you never thought you would until you tried it?

Using the Internet, funnily enough.  I was deeply suspicious of the Internet until I actually went on it.  Blogging, in particular, was something I was very apprehensive about until I tried it.

4. What have you learnt about yourself from your previous (and current) romantic relationships?

Only that I’m useless at romatic relationships.

5. What physical traits do you find attractive in the opposite sex?

I was tempted to just write “BOOBS!!!” and move onto the next question, but I have a feeling that would cause my readers to think even less of me than they already do, so I’ll have a go at answering this seriously.

A good sense of humour, and a nice smile.  I also like people who are skilled at art or music, because I find that impressive.  It’s really difficult to single out which specific traits make a person attractive, though.

6. Do you believe in any superstitions, or have some particular ritual?

I don’t consider myself superstitious, but I try to keep an open mind about people’s spiritual beliefs.

There are a lot of things that I do so often that they could be considered rituals, though.  For example, every time I leave the house, I have to go back and check that I locked the door.  I think I might just be slightly OCD.🙂

7. What’s the nicest thing you’ve ever done for somebody?

I really can’t think of anything to mention.  It’s not that I never do nice things, it’s that I do them out of habit, and I can’t think of any one especially nice thing I’ve done for anyone.  It’s a lot easier to remember times when I’ve screwed up and upset someone.  This is a really tough question.

To be honest, it’s so difficult I can’t think of an answer.  Sometimes I’ve helped people out without being asked, and it’s always felt so rewarding just to see that people are happy.

Let me see…  No, it’s no good.  I realise this is a total cop-out, but I can’t think of anything that fits.  Sorry!

8. If you could something with your blog (cost, time and other factors irrelevant), what would you do?

I’d like to post more often.  Somehow, I never seem to find the time to post everything I want to.

I’d also like to maybe put more of my creative writing on here.  When I’ve done that before it’s gotten a fairly positive response, so I’m thinking I might post more in future.

9. Books, chocolates, sex. Make a sentence with it.

“Our school books lay forgotten as we sat in the ‘silent study’ area, eating chocolates and loudly discussing sex.”

I was going to make a totally innocent sentence containing the phrase “the opposite sex”, but then I decided that one was too good not to use.

10. If you were dead now, what would people most remember about you?

Geez, way to end on a downer.  I expect my close friends and family would remember me as someone who was kind and tried his best to be a good person, while everyone else would remember me, if at all, as some random nerd who really should have looked both ways before stepping out into the street.

***

And on that morbid note, I conclude my meme answering.  Those were very difficult!

I don’t really know who to tag, but I would like it if people decided to do these memes themselves, so if you like them, by all means use them.

In other words, I tag YOU!


Actions

Information

3 responses

9 06 2008
sulz

hmm, for your first time, you certainly went into the pool from the deep end.😉

you have to read at least one agatha christie mystery if you have to read the genre. read anything that has her famous detective hercule poirot or and then there were none.

meh, you cheated on the food question. anyone could eat banana on toast with cinnamon!

thanks for stealing my meme!

1. haha, turkey, yeah the gobble bit huh?

3. hahaha, you sound like an old man there.😀

5. i always thought all guys like boobs but actually not all, not even the majority. some seem to go for legs or butt.

9. sounds like a typical scene at school. i’m sure i must have been in one like that, hehe.

10. is that how you think you’re going to die?? i hope mine is quick and painless. wishful thinking probably.😀

9 06 2008
museditions

Wow, you went from being a virgin to an old pro in one (or two) goes.😉
Sikh history is very interesting…you are reminding me I want to read more, there, too. Yeah, there is that male-falsetto thing happening with the Bee Gees that’s a little scary. Have you heard the Beach Boys? Sherry (baby)? Good Vibrations? woooah! A.C. Doyle, huh? Elementary, my dear B0bby. I’ve never been to Rome, either. You’re much closer; tell me how it was! Haha, at first I agreed with sulz, that you were cheating with the banana on toast. But it didn’t say it had to be a scary food, just one you hadn’t tried before! Very creative use of the meme…[mutters to self, now I’m stuck eating haggis! and as for sulz…] Hmm if you can learn to fence, you can probably learn to dance. I agree though, it’s probably not a good idea to dance with your sword…or lance…or what you use there.😉

OK, next: #2 you do demonstrate those things! #3 me too! I was a’scared o’ blogging ’til I tried it! #4 awww. but you’re so charming, don’t despair! #5 humour, smile & art & music—all good things. And hey, nothing wrong with boobs! We should all have access to them one way or another, don’t you think? #7 I’ll bet if you ask your friends they’ll say differently. #8 please do! #9 where do I sign up for classes at your school?😉 #10 your family and friends would have the right idea.
Thanks so much for doing both of these! It has been a pleasure to peer a bit into your soul.🙂

10 06 2008
B0bbyG

@ sulz: It certainly felt like diving in at the deep end!🙂

Oh yeah, I really ought to check out some of Christie’s books before I have all the endings spoiled for me!

Hey, it didn’t say it had to be a weird food! The banana on toast with cinnamon was very nice!

You’re welcome, thank you for writing such a good meme!🙂

1. Well, that was the reasoning. Gobble gobble!
3. Haha, maybe I’m a Luddite at heart. I used to think it was just some weird geek thing (now, of course, I am a geek).
5. What?? Not even the majority of guys like boobs? I find that very surprising.
9. Typical when the staff were foolish enough to leave us unsupervised, perhaps.🙂
10. I don’t know how I’m going to die. That was just a random example. And I think we all hope for a painless death!😉

@ Muse: Oh, great. Two memes and I’m already a meme slut!😉

Yeah, from what I know of Sikhs, their history is fascinating. It would be great to learn more.

Of course I’ve heard the Beach Boys! Great band!

I quite liked The Lost World, so maybe I’ll enjoy the Holmes stories.

OK, but don’t hold your breath! I don’t think I’ll be able to go to Rome just this moment!😉

Well, I’ve already tried escargots and haggis, so I had to come up with something else. I don’t like making promises and then breaking them, and I had bread, banana and cinnamon, so I thought, why not?😉

I could combine the two you mean? Fencing dancing? Might not be entirely wise…

2. Why, thank you very much!🙂
3. Whew, so I’m not alone then!
4. Um… wow. I really don’t know about charming, but thanks for the compliment!🙂
5. Well, I think those are good things. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with boobs, but I’m not so shallow as to form an opinion of people based on the size of their chests, really I’m not!
7. Ha! They’d probably tell me to naff off and stop fishing for compliments if I asked them something like that!🙂
8. OK!
9. Oh, there’s no way you could do that in class! In class you have to eat chocolates and quietly discuss sex.🙂
10. That’s really nice of you! I’d like to be remembered as a good person.

Thank you very much for reading them!🙂 Please don’t examine my soul too closely, or I’ll get self-conscious!




