Study Leave

16 05 2008

Another introspective post.  I’m afraid these are getting more common of late; I hope I don’t make a habit of it.  People will start to think I have feelings.

Today, Year 13 broke up for study leave.  This means we will spend the next few weeks out of Sixth Form, revising for exams.  The problem is, I don’t yet know enough about the History of France 1601-1715 to start revising, so I’m going to spend the next few weeks making notes from textbooks, trying to learn as much as I can.  Only once I know what the Edict of Nantes was, or why Louis XIV disliked Jansenists so much, can I begin my actual revision.

Today was grey-skied and windy (I’m blogging about the weather again, but bear with me).  Somebody had dumped several picnic benches, some road signs and a small marquee on the roof of the Sixth Form block.

We spent the day doing very little, although I did attend a history lesson, during which I probably learned more than I have done in an entire year’s worth of history lessons.  All in all, though, it’s been a bit of an odd day, and afterwards I can’t help feeling a little sad, in spite of my best efforts to become a “manly man” (manly men don’t succumb to wimpy emotions such as sadness).  After all, I don’t know how many of my classmates I’m going to see ever again.  Admittedly, we will be returning for exams and results day, but that doesn’t mean I’ll meet up with all of them again.

The really weird thing is that, if all goes to plan, I’ll be coming back next year, while most of my friends head off to Uni.  So although it feels like Sixth Form is over, I’ll actually be having another whole year, during which I’ll be surrounded by unfamiliar Year 12s.  Two of my friends will be returning; ironically, both of them were in my history class this year, but next year they won’t be, so I’ll only see them during study periods.

Of course, unlike most of my friends, I’m not even on study leave yet, since I study media at a different school which won’t be breaking up for another week.  Which reminds me, I have an essay on genre to complete by Monday.

I apologise for the above splurge of emotions; I just had to get that out of my system.  Media studies relevant posts will return soon.  I hope promise think.


Actions

Information

14 responses

16 05 2008
Cat

Why are you returning?

16 05 2008
Cat

And why are you going to different schools?!

[Note to self, finish reading post before commenting next time!]

16 05 2008
B0bbyG

I’m returning to finish my A2 Early Modern History course and to study A2 Music Tech.

The Sixth Form I go to doesn’t offer Media Studies as an option, so I go to another school to study that. The other school doesn’t offer Music Tech, either, so by going to two schools I get the best of both worlds.

Going to both schools also lets me be objective about the rivalry between the two. Generally speaking, the joint sixth form thinks the comprehensive is full of chavvy morons, while the comprehensive thinks the joint sixth form consists mainly of pompous snobs and homosexuals. Both schools are correct, to a degree.

And don’t worry, it was a pretty long post. Thanks for reading!🙂

17 05 2008
sulz

0_o sounds complicated and very hectic to go to two schools!

sounds a bit like how i felt at my class party. you really shouldn’t apologise for writing sappy stuff like this, it’s your blog after all! unless you were saying sorry to yourself. or your blog, haha.

good luck for your exams! i’ve finished mine a couple of weeks ago, so relieved!!😀

17 05 2008
Cat

That is quite bizarre! I’ve never heard of anyone going to two schools! Do you have to wear two uniforms?

17 05 2008
B0bbyG

@ Sulz: It’s not very complicated or hectic, since the schools are only about ten minutes away from one another. The most difficult part is the timetables, because the comprehensive has 6 lessons a day, and the joint sixth form has 5.

Yes, it feels very like my old class party from when I left high school. And thanks for that, I know it’s daft to apologise, but I always feel guilty when I stray too far from media studies, which is what this was supposed to be about!

Thank you! 🙂 I’ll bet its a big relief to be done with your exams! I hope they went OK?

@ Cat: Well, it’s not really like being at school, since I finished my regular school after my GCSEs. The comprehensive and the joint sixth form have a kind of partnership, so there are a few other pupils who do the same.

The joint sixth form doesn’t have a uniform, just an extremely strict dress code (which us students tend to ignore). The sixth formers at the comprehensive don’t even have a dress code, so we can wear pretty much whatever we like there.😉

17 05 2008
sulz

well, the one which the results are out are alright, but it’s the ones which aren’t that i’m a bit worried about… i cannot imagine what i’d do if i fail anything! *whimper*

17 05 2008
B0bbyG

Well it’s promising that the ones you got back are OK, so there’s probably nothing to worry about. You seem like a really smart person, so I’m sure you’ll have done fine!

17 05 2008
Cat

Well, it definitely sounds complicated to me!

Good luck with your exams and revision for what has to be one of the more boring periods in history [imo of course!]!

17 05 2008
B0bbyG

Thank you!🙂 And yes, it is extremely boring!

18 05 2008
Will Rhodes

You should be in Canada, Bobby – it’s 2-4 weekend!!

(2-4) = 24 case of beer. Victoria day weekend so a bank holiday. FUN!🙂

18 05 2008
B0bbyG

Sounds like fun! Enjoy your May 2-4! 🙂

22 05 2008
museditions

Oh, no, you have feelings, B0bby? I’m so disillusioned!😉 Seriously, though, I certainly understand the semi-melancholy of endings and uncertain beginnings. It’s always strange making life changes, but you have great wit, stamina, and intelligence, and they will be your allies. Besides, you also have your blog friends to encourage you. Yay!

23 05 2008
B0bbyG

Wow, thanks Muse! Yay for blog friends!🙂




