Lazy Bobby!

19 04 2008

I haven’t posted in a while, but I do have the excuse that we kept getting disconnected from the Internet.  Also, it’s been a very boring week, with very little going on.  I’ve been in the kind of apathetic state where I know I should be doing something, but I don’t feel up to it.  Or, to use the vernacular phrase, I couldn’t be arsed.  Yes, I do realise this amounts to nothing more than laziness, but hey, I never said I was perfect.

Just to prove how lazy I am, I’m not going to do a media studies post today.  Instead, I’d like to recommend a post written by a fellow blogger, dissfunktional, who has written a post about the people who put the information online that the powers that be don’t want you to know about.  I heartily recommend that you check it out.

So what have I been up to?  The usual… reading, writing, catching up with webcomics, watching Doctor Who (next episode in ten minutes!), general nerding, etc.  The other day I went to the theatre (not something I do often) to see an adaptation of Michael Frayn’s Spies, which was excellent, even though I didn’t much like the book.

So, anyway, I have to go peel some potatos.

Current listening: Moby, “Machete”.


Actions

Information

13 responses

19 04 2008
cjwriter

Sorry to hear you’ve been disconnected, Bobby; it’s nasty when that keeps happening. A lot of people are going through a slump in blogging at the moment, though… I’m not sure if it’s that they’re busy or just have other things on their minds but I know I’m finding it harder to stay motivated at the moment. But that’s not unusual for me.😉

Diss’s post is fascinating. I haven’t read all of it yet but there were a few sites I hadn’t heard of. Wikileaks and FAIR are very important, particularly with our climate of political spin… democracy is only as strong as the people who hold it accountable and if there’s another Watergate, I wouldn’t be surprised if it comes through Wikileaks.

Hope you enjoyed Dr. Who! We still haven’t seen all of the previous season yet in Aus, so we’re desperately trying to avoid spoilers. Why they keep showing Robin Hood over it is a mystery to me.😕

19 04 2008
B0bbyG

Thanks CJ. Obviously, we’re back online now, so hopefully it’s going to stay that way!🙂

I think Diss’ post is especially interesting because it really shows the Internet’s potential as a source of information. I haven’t read much of WikiLeaks yet, having only just discovered it thanks to Diss’ post, but it’s already clear there’s some startling stuff on there.

Today’s Doctor Who wasn’t the best it’s been this series, but we’re only 3 episodes in over here. Don’t worry, I won’t be posting spoilers here!

19 04 2008
Cat

Robin Hood is brilliant! Nothing compared to DW though.

I didn’t like today’s episode all that much, but I kind of missed the last twenty minutes due to a phonecall. I’m looking forward to rewatching it in a bit.

20 04 2008
Will Rhodes

Cj – we’re the same as you – for some reason they don’t show the whole season of Dr Who, and that does my head in no end!

Torchwood was on, they left the last 3 episodes off air completely!

Stupid I tells ya!

Good to see you back online, Bobby!

20 04 2008
B0bbyG

@ Cat: I usually watched Robin Hood when it was on. I thought it was quite fun, but it wasn’t really my thing. If you missed the last 20 minutes of Doctor Who it won’t have made any sense at all; although it was confusing anyway. o_o;

@ Will: You mean they don’t broadcast the whole series!? That must be so annoying. It’s a wonder people can follow it at all! I agree, that does sound really stupid. And thanks, believe me, it’s good to be back online!🙂

20 04 2008
museditions

Well, you may be lazy, or you may just be hanging out with yourself. Either way it’s good to see you. We just had the Titanic episode, (so-so) and we’re getting Sarah Jane Adventures now too. My jury is out on that one. Looking forward to really getting back into Who, but you are far ahead of us! Took a peek over at Cat’s, and she has pics! I had to not look (almost). I shall implement a plan, and only read 3 week old posts there for the next bit.🙂

20 04 2008
B0bbyG

Thanks Muse. Good to see you too.🙂

After the enjoyable pilot episode, I thought The Sarah Jane Adventures was rather unimpressive, but I stuck with it out of Doctor Who deprivation, and was rewarded when it picked up towards the end of the series.

Yes, Cat has some good quality pics, some of them absolutely spoilerific. Waiting three weeks before reading the posts might be the best strategy!

20 04 2008
Will Rhodes

@ Will: You mean they don’t broadcast the whole series!? That must be so annoying. It’s a wonder people can follow it at all! I agree, that does sound really stupid. And thanks, believe me, it’s good to be back online!

Nope – and they have ‘Hockey’ play-offs, god that game is dire!

Instead of a run like in the UK the TV schedule changes as much as anything I have ever seen! Why they can’t just put the series on and then on to something else is beyond me.😦

20 04 2008
Cat

Yeah, sorry about that! I keep forgetting that you all get it later as all the people in the US that I’ve converted to DW are torrenting theirs to not have to wait..

Sorry!

21 04 2008
B0bbyG

@ Will: I thought for a moment that the people running the schedule might not know the shows are serials, but it sounds like they don’t even care about continuity. It must be quite frustrating.

@ Cat: Don’t worry! 🙂 I’m sure nobody finds it a problem – if they don’t want spoilers, they can just not read the posts that have spoilers in them. You’re not forcing anyone to read them, and it’s pretty obvious at a glance which posts are about Doctor Who.

21 04 2008
museditions

Yes, Cat, no worries, really! After all, people in the UK ought to be able to enjoy Brit telly first! You have enough US TV foisted upon you as it is without having to keep mum about your favorite shows from home. I think my plan is an excellent one—you just may have to put up with some comments on 3-week old posts, though!😉

22 04 2008
Cat

You’re more than welcome to, museditions.

I’ve hidden pretty much all of the posts with the more tag, so all you see is one general episode specific image which doesn’t spoil anything.

@Will Is that Torchwood season 2? If so, wow, you missed out..

22 04 2008
B0bbyG

The Torchwood season 2 finale was brilliant! It reminded me why I bother to watch the show. 🙂

Maybe they’ll show it in Canada eventually. If they don’t, then season 3 (assuming there will be one) won’t make much sense.




