“Spring Break” sucks!

5 04 2008

No, not the holiday, the phrase, silly!  I mean, Easter was only a bank holiday weekend.  We’re having our Easter Holidays now, but how can they be Easter Holidays if they don’t involve Easter?

Some of my more secular, less traditional friends pointed out that there’s no reason we can’t celebrate Easter now, eggs and all, but it wouldn’t be the same, and I’ve already had Easter.

So, what to call this holiday?  One girl at school (a somewhat, er, unusual year 12 girl) has taken to referring to it as Spring Break.  Several teachers were using the phrase as well, but it just feels kind of weird, like some strange American, PC thing.  “Spring Break”.  “Spring Break”.  I don’t know, it’s just not something that rolls off the tongue easily, probably because this holiday has always been the Easter Holidays, as long as I can remember.  Some people at school were actually calling it Half Term, even though that’s something completely different!

So, anyway, it’s “Spring Break”, and I’m in a bit of a random mood, as you probably guessed.

It was rather a shock logging onto WordPress the other day and discovering that they’ve changed the dashboard screen (that’s the behind the scenes stuff that readers don’t see).  The new design is probably easier to use, but it’s less easy on the eye, dominated by pastel oranges and blues.  I also miss having a link to the forums on the dashboard.  I expect I’ll get used to it.

Anyway, I haven’t seen GoodFellas yet.  We were going to be watching it in class, but a certain teacher couldn’t be bothered to show up to teach us.  Perhaps I’ll be able to borrow a copy from a friend, but otherwise I’ll have to wait until the holidays are over.

Oh and, almost forgot: DoctorWhoseriesfourstartsinlessthananhour!!!

*Sighs*  I’m such a hopeless Doctor Who fanboy.

Current listening: Feeder, “Comfort In Sound”.


Actions

Information

15 responses

5 04 2008
timethief

Hi there,
I find a link to the forum on the top right hand corner of my dashboard. Just above the “support” button. I hope this helps you locate it.🙂

5 04 2008
B0bbyG

Yeah, I see it! Thank you very much!🙂

It’s just a little confusing, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it.

6 04 2008
Cat

So.. What did you think of Doctor Who? And that big WTF moment at the end?!

6 04 2008
B0bbyG

How can I phrase this on an international site?

I was stunned. Assuming the “big WTF moment” you are referring to is the one I think you are referring to, and not the Doctor binning a perfectly useful gadget or Catherine Tate becoming a companion.

I thought it was a pretty good episode, if somewhat ridiculous. I thought Donna had undergone a rather unrealistic personality shift, but she was more likeable for it, so we’ll let them off for that. But yeah, I thought it was cool. What did you think?

6 04 2008
Cat

Ahahahaha, I love it! My post/blog is completely full of spoilers and you’re not mantioning anything at all!🙂

6 04 2008
B0bbyG

Hey, I’m nice. Sometimes Americans read this.🙂

Yo, if any Doctor Who fans want a detailed rundown of last night’s episode, Cat’s written an excellent post reviewing and summarising it on her blog. It’s got screenshots and everything. I heartily recommend you check it out – if you don’t mind spoilers.😉

6 04 2008
Cat

Yeah, I was debating of labelling my post, but then I thought I’d be quite obvious it’d have spoilers considering how long it got! It was only meant to be a couple paragraphs..

Thanks for the link.🙂

6 04 2008
B0bbyG

No problem. The most spoilery images are right near the bottom of the post, so anybody who has read that far is obviously not worried about spoilers! 🙂

6 04 2008
museditions

Eeeeek! I love Cat’s blog, but I’d be too tempted! We haven’t even got the Christmas special yet in the US! And the only time we’ve seen Donna was in the wedding dress at the beginning of LAST series. It starts back up here on April 18, so I’m trying to be patient.

Spring Break has definitely become the politically correct spring holiday in the US, Bobby. We have “Winter Break”, too, rather than “Christmas Vacation” as we used to. I think part of why it seems so strange this year is that Easter came so early, something like the earliest it’s been since 1920. That being said, I must admit I’m in favor of the more generic names for the school holidays, as there are so many different traditions to be honored. People can still celebrate the holiday(s) of their choice, on the day(s) specified.

Hold out, hold out Bobby against the corrupting influence of the Gangster films! Be naive! Be innocent! Be you!!!

6 04 2008
Cat

Really don’t go to my blog if you don’t want to know! It’s full of spoilers which you will probably find out before it airs. The main reason the surprises worked here was because the press were given the episode with scenes missing.

April 18th isn’t too bad though, you’ll be with us soon, just avoid anything DW related on the net.. whcih sadly includes my blog..

6 04 2008
B0bbyG

@ Muse: Cat’s blog rocks, but fight the temptation! It sounds like you’re like me; I try to avoid spoilers if I possibly can, but sometimes it’s tempting to find out all you can when you’re suffering from TV withdrawal. I would take Cat’s advice if I were you – although it might be safest to avoid all sites about TV or SF for a while!😉

I’ve never even heard of winter break! I can see why giving the holidays generic names is probably sensible, given that there are so many religions and festivals, but it’s been Easter holidays as long as I can remember, and I’m not the most flexible of people.

I’m still as innocent as ever, and I have no intention of changing that any time soon, so don’t worry!🙂

@ Cat: It was clever, really, keeping the spoilers like that. It meant that for once we could enjoy the show without knowing the plot in advance. 🙂 Maybe they should do that more often!

7 04 2008
Cat

All these compliments for my blog..😀

I wish they’d do that more often too, too many times things get spoilt or hinted at which takes away the surprise.

7 04 2008
B0bbyG

We were being truthful – your blog does rock. Known fact.

Thus far I haven’t seen any really bad spoilers floating around for this series since the “Rose will return” thing last year.

Maybe there was a fan backlash against that, so they’ve decided not to give anything else away?

13 04 2008
Cat

So, what did you think of episode two?

I give it a 6/10, it seemed a bit complicated/confusing apart from the last 10 mins.

And wow, I don’t know what I can say about the compliments! Thanks.😀

13 04 2008
B0bbyG

I thought it was pretty good. The special effects were impressive, and the script wasn’t bad, either. I managed to just about keep up with the plot, although it was very fast paced; it was probably riddled with holes that I didn’t have time to notice!😉




