Welcome back to my evil lair!

23 03 2008

You may not know it, but today is a very special occasion.  That’s right – it is exactly one year since my first ever blog post.  Well OK, it’s probably about 2 hours out, but dash it, it’s close.

Today is also Easter Sunday (I hadn’t forgotten!), and, I believe, the earliest Easter we’ve had since the 19th Century.  This doesn’t actually explain the fact that it’s been snowing in the UK, as depicted in these photographs on the BBC website.  Here where I live there hasn’t been any snow today, although there was a little yesterday.  It has been cold though.

The latest media controversy reported by the BBC news is over an anti-Islamic film, Fitna, which is being made by Dutch politician Geert Wilders, and which has caused a number of protests.  Network Solutions have suspended the film’s website due to concerns that it may violate their acceptable use policy , which prohibits, among other things, “hate propaganda”.

Personally I think it’s a dumb idea anyway, since regardless of your views on whether or not hate speech should be permitted, surely it’s common sense that you abide by the regulations put in place by your web host.

In any case, that’s all I’ve got time to write, since I’ve got two essays to be getting on with.

Happy Easter all.

Current listening: Black Sabbath, “Rat Salad”.


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2008
Will Rhodes

Should we say Happy Blog birthday, Bobby?

Well done for getting through the first year though.🙂

24 03 2008
B0bbyG

Thanks Will.🙂




