Half term holidays

15 02 2008

It’s half term, and tomorrow morning we’re heading off to the Costa Del Sol for a week, during which I’m unlikely to be able to access a computer, so there won’t be any more updates for a while.

Well OK, technically it’s not half term but the end of a term, since they recently changed the way the year is organised, but it comes to the same thing: a week off school.

I’m hoping to see some Spanish culture, and enjoy the sunshine (please let it be sunny!).  Of course, it won’t all be fun and games; I’ve got an English essay to write, to be handed in first day back.  I’ll also probably go into CD player, webcomic and piano withdrawal, and I don’t know what I’m going to do about the two episodes of Primeval I’ll be missing.  Yes, I know, this is a really exciting holiday, so I shouldn’t worry about trivial things!  *Shakes head in dismay at own nerdiness.*

In the meantime, I feel I should leave you with some media-studies relevant material.  Here are the Wikipedia articles on Public Service Broadcasting and PSB in the UK.  The latter provides an answer to Adam’s homework question of whether digital channels are required to provide some PSB – apparently not, since Wikipedia specifically says that it’s terrestrial channels.  Of course, that’s only in the UK, so other countries might require digital channels to provide PSB.

In the news, the BBC report that net firms are rejecting the government’s suggestions that they monitor Internet use to reduce piracy, both on legal and technical grounds.  All stations monitor how much is downloaded, but the 2002 E-Commerce Regulations define ISPs as “mere conduits”, which means they aren’t responsible for what is downloaded; on the contrary, there may be laws preventing them from being so.  The confusion continues, and the war on piracy rages on.

 Current listening: Iron Maiden, “Aces High”.


Actions

Information

3 responses

15 02 2008
sulz

how nice! enjoy your holidays! if can post some pictures here! hola espanol!

17 02 2008
museditions

Good holidays to you, Bobby! You’ve earned them.

19 02 2008
B0bbyG

Hola! Muchos gracias!

I haven´t even taken any photos yet, I´ll have to remember to!




