A safer Scotland with Xbox 360

24 12 2007

The BBC have reported that the Scottish government are spending £10,000 on anti-drink driving advertisements to appear in Xbox 360 games.  The adverts will appear on billboards in the background of online versions of Need for Speed: Carbon, Project Gotham Racing 4 and Pro Evolution Soccer 2008.

 The adverts will be “subtle,” but will get the message across “loud and clear”.  An example of this message is “Drink Drive.  Lose Licence.  Don’t Risk It.” accompanied by the Safer Scotland logo.  If the scheme is successful, this could be extended to other road safety messages as well.

Transport Minister Stewart Stevenson says, “With statistics showing that road deaths, particularly among young people, are continuing to rise, it is clear we must look at new ways of getting road safety messages across…  This is exactly the kind of initiative we should be trying…  It is innovative, it is new, and it is far removed from the more traditional methods we have been using. I believe that is what we need if we are to reverse the number of Scots families suffering the tragedy of a loved one being lost.”

Given that police recently caught nearly 150 drink driving under 25 year olds during the “annual festive drink driving blitz” (the what?), and that more than 70% of 15-25 year olds in the UK own a games console, I’m inclined to agree with him.  Whilst I may feel he’s placing too much importance on this latest scheme (and let’s face it, politicians are always doing that), I think this is a good way to get the adverts noticed.

 Remember kids: drink driving is dumb.  Don’t do it.  Especially not at Christmas.


Actions

Information

6 responses

24 12 2007
Cat

I was going to blog about that! Thief!!

It’s an interesting idea really. And I didn’t realise that 70% owned a console? That number seems un naturally high.

24 12 2007
B0bbyG

OK, fine, I’ll admit it – I used my psychic powers to read your mind and steal your post idea! Naturally, I’m very, very sorry. Very.

70% is a lot, but would it be surprising if you substituted “games console” for “computer” or “mobile ‘phone”? It’s like Halo 3 selling better than Spiderman 3 or Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – video games really are a big thing nowadays. Also remember, 15-25 year olds are pretty much slap-bang in the middle of video games’ target demographic.

I love the festive avatar, by the way.

24 12 2007
Cat

Why thank you. I thought that the cat with the hat deserved some christmas spirit.

It’s just that 70% seems awfully high. I wonder how they got to that number..

This is just the type of good publicity that gaming needs though; the fact the medium can be used for good things and may help prevent deaths, instead of the usual accusation of everyone just turning into a mass murderer..

24 12 2007
B0bbyG

Aye. Actually, on the Scottish government page, the number given by Stewart Stevenson is 73% (the vague “more than 70%” is from the Beeb).

I am glad that video games are getting publicity that isn’t of the “all gamers are killers” variety. Who knows – they may finally be becoming accepted as just another entertainment medium. I wonder what the next scapegoat will be?

25 12 2007
cjwriter

Interesting idea. It’s been mentioned over here as well; cricket games sell well here (despite not being very good!) and using billboards for anti-drink driving and anti-smoking messages seems like a good match.

I like the idea but I never really notice these kind of ads… if I’m in the middle of a game, I only notice the action. Be interesting to see what kind of results they get.

Merry Christmas, btw! I love the snow effect around WP; it’s the closest I’ll get to a white Christmas.🙂

25 12 2007
B0bbyG

Merry Christmas cjwriter! I love the snow effect too, it’s so cool. Pity they don’t offer anything like this for other times of the year (maybe they do, but I’m a newbie who doesn’t know what he’s talking about).🙂

I never really notice ads either, but obviously someone must notice them or else they wouldn’t bother.

It’s a pity there aren’t any decent cricket games out there. All the best sports games seem to be either golf or some form of football.




