The Queen on YouTube

23 12 2007

The UK royal family have their own YouTube channel.  The Royal Channel is “the official channel of the British monarchy”.  There are currently 18 videos up, the most recent being the first ever televised Christmas Broadcast (Queen’s speech) from 1957.  Apparently, this year’s speech “will appear on this channel at approximately 3pm GMT on Christmas Day.”  Yep, just like that.

Well, I mentioned Downing Street’s channel earlier, so I sort of had to mention this.  You know, I’m feeling really Christmassy now.


Actions

Information

18 responses

23 12 2007
Cat

That’s excellent! I’ve been looking for some place I can watch that online on as I don’t have my TV set up.

Now I just need to find somewhere for the Doctor Who special…

23 12 2007
B0bbyG

I’m looking forward to Doctor Who too. Mind you, if you did have the TV set up, you’d probably know the plot already (they’ve been putting so many adverts on). Here’s hoping they make the show available online.

24 12 2007
museditions

I watched the 1957 message, and found it quite remarkable as was/is she. Things have certainly changed. Thanks for posting this.
Doctor Who special? Where? When? I’m suffering from “Who” deprivation. Well, we probably won’t get it in the states for months…

24 12 2007
Cat

Dctor Who Christmas Special. Airs in the UK on the 25th [tomorrow!!!] and stars David Tenant and Kylie Minogue [as a waitress] on the Titanic.

Pretty much spoilerfree link, til tomorrow evening anyway:

http: //en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Voyage_of_the_Damned_%28Doctor_Who%29

Obviously take out the spaces, didn’t want it to get Akismet’ed.

And yeah, I can’t find US dates anywhere….

24 12 2007
museditions

Thanks very much for the link, Cat. I will wait quietly in my TARDIS ’til it makes it’s way across the pond. Happy Christmas, Bobby & Cat!

24 12 2007
Cat

Well, if you have a TARDIS you could just come over here and watch it!

Merry Christmas to you, too. And you, Bobby.

24 12 2007
B0bbyG

Merry Christmas to both of you, and thanks for the comments!

This is the third Doctor Who Christmas special since the show’s revival in 2005. The first one was excellent, the second all right, but it looks like they’ve really pulled out all the stops with this one.

24 12 2007
Cat

Yeah, last year’s wasn’t too great. But that could be due to the fact that I don’t like Catherine Tate much.

24 12 2007
B0bbyG

I don’t have a problem with Catherine Tate herself, but I found Donna really irritating (so I’m a little apprehensive about her getting a bigger part in series 4). I also found the idea of two different aliens attempting to invade at Christmas for two years in a row kind of implausible, and I thought the Racnoss queen was a bit pantomimical. That said, Doctor Who is always good fun, and high quality, so even the weaker episodes are worth watching.

24 12 2007
museditions

My TARDIS is, unfortunately, not a working model, just a prop. On the outside, it looks like a common…desk chair!

We got the last Christmas special in April, so there is hope. Donna is somewhate annoying, but I’m interested to see what they do with her. Still, there’s no one quite like our Rose. Cheers.

24 12 2007
Cat

Very true, it’s always worth watching. And then there are some truly amazing ones, like Blink.

The Donna character got a little better towards the end of the special, but I do wonder what next season will be like. Rose, Martha and Donna are all taking part. I wonder if they meet..

And I think I’m starting to prefer Martha over Rose.

24 12 2007
B0bbyG

@ museditions: It seems a bit strange to show a Christmas special in April. On the bright side, at least the majority of shows air in America before they do in the UK, so for the most part you see things before we do. I’m sick of people telling me what happens in Heroes series 2, for example.

@ Cat: Yeah, Martha rocks. Actually, I always thought Mickey was cool, but I don’t think he’ll be coming back. I’m actually annoyed that they felt it necessary to announce the return of Rose; given the nature of her departure, it’s quite a spoiler, and they managed to keep series 2’s Daleks secret.

“Blink” was great, as were “The Girl in the Fireplace”, “Human Nature” and “Dalek”. Now that I think about it, some of the best stuff I’ve seen on TV has been on Doctor Who!

25 12 2007
Cat

Yeah, I was a bit annoyed with that as well, especially as I’m now thinking on how she’ll come back. And does she bring the Daleks/Cybermen with her? After all coming back means crossing the void…

I liked Mickey a lot and I don’t think the actor’s up to much, but bringing him back would mean that Rose’s comeback isn’t so much of a big deal.

liked the last two episodes of series three with the Master, Martha, Jack and so on, but I have to say a big part of that was the music. And the way it was build up from last year’s Christmas special with Harold Saxon given the order to shoot down the queen of Ragnoss to the most obvious campaign posters hanging all over London!

25 12 2007
B0bbyG

Merry Christmas!

Aye, Murray Gold’s a great composer. Or were you referring to “Voodoo Child” and “I Can’t Decide”?

Doctor Who is typically at its best when they have an ongoing plot. The problem is, they’re reluctant to make the overall story too strong in case they put off new viewers.

25 12 2007
Cat

Murray Gold of course. It’s the ongoing theme in season three specifically at the end.

YANA: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq3Su2z5dgM
This is Gallifrey – Our childhood, our home: – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBw3OqmeAfk
Martha’s Quest: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zh81HRfIKtE

And I cannot believe that someone put that all on Youtube!!

Saying that ‘Voodoo Child’ and ‘I can’t decide’ were very fitting too. Apparently there were numerous complaints to Ofcom about the use of Voodoo Child though. I remember reading something, but can’t find anything about it now.

25 12 2007
B0bbyG

Really? I never read that. I don’t know why people would complain about “Voodoo Child”, I’m at a loss to see what’s wrong with it. Maybe they just didn’t like dance music?🙂

Thanks for the YouTube links!

25 12 2007
Cat

Hmm, it was something to do with it being unfitting and insensitiv, but as I can’t find it it after searchign for it, I’ll probably misread it..

25 12 2007
B0bbyG

It was diagetic though!

*Sighs* I thought it worked, myself. The contrast between the music and the visuals was quite clever.




