PlayStation 3 outselling Wii in Japan

30 11 2007

According to this BBC article, the PS3 has finally overtaken the Wii for monthly sales in its native Japan.  This is following price cuts and the release of a cheaper model.  In November, 183,217 PS3s were sold in Japan, compared to 159,193 Wii  (what’s the plural of “Wii”?  “Wii”?  “Wiis”?  “Wiien”?).

Analysts predict that the Wii will continue to dominate the global market.  Said KBC Securities analyst Hiroshi Kamide: “Overseas, I don’t really see the PS3 doing that much at Christmas time primarily because it’s still more expensive than the other machines and has less software.”  The Wii is, of course, considerably cheaper than the PS3, although as far as I can tell it is similarly short of good games (recent releases notwithstanding).

“It’s nice to see the PS3 selling much better than six months ago… but is it a sustainable trend? Is it going to really escalate from here? I’m not so sure,” said Kamide-san.

That said, I think this recent development goes to show that the ‘next generation’ console war is still in the early stages.  I certainly wouldn’t count Sony out of the running yet.


Actions

Information

13 responses

30 11 2007
Cat

Well, Sony need to do some cathing up. They are really slowing behind.

And I believe it’s Wiis, but I may be wrong.

30 11 2007
B0bbyG

I never know how to pluralise Japanese words since in Japan they have no plurals. “Wiis” sounds about right though.🙂

Sony may have the best hardware, but IMHO they’ve placed too much emphasis on that and not enough on the games themselves. The Wii and the 360 both have a better selection of games at the moment.

30 11 2007
Cat

Yeah, pretty much. Although I think Sony’s main problem was the massive delay. So many gamers and Sony fans got bored and ended up buying another console instead. Couple that with previously PS3 only games [Devil May Cry for example] that are now multiplatform…

30 11 2007
B0bbyG

That’s one of Nintendo’s strengths, of course. If Mario or Metroid becomes multiplatform, I imagine many of Nintendo’s fans would give up on them. Microsoft have started to cultivate a similar image for themselves with the Halo series, but Sony have never been interested in generating that kind of attention for themselves, or at least, not for a long time.

1 12 2007
Cat

Nintendo have absolutely no reason to go multi though. They’ve sold 13 million, MS 12 1/2 million and Sony 5 1/2 units. Plus they’re the only ones making a profit with the hardware.

I don’t know if you read Ctrl-Alt-Del, this is quite funny: http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/comics/20070326.jpg

1 12 2007
cjwriter

I’d already counted Sony out of the running with the PS3, so this is interesting. Maybe they’re turning the corner at last, particularly if they can follow this up with some decent games. I’m still not convinced, though… I bought one of the original PS2s when it came out and was so annoyed with Sony that I basically didn’t play it for a year; there were no decent games, and the glitches were insufferable (they ended up replacing mine). I’d hoped Sony would have learnt their lesson by now, but they’re still doing it with the PS3! I have a 360 and I’m a pretty serious gamer, but I won’t be buying a PS3 until there’s another price drop. The only game I feel like I’ll miss is Metal Gear Solid 4, but as long as I can play Halo 3 and Mass Effect, I can wait.😉

The one thing I do like about the PS3 is that Sony isn’t marketing it (at least in Aus?) as a gaming system as much as a multimedia system. It’s the cheapest Blu-Ray player on the market, and seems reasonable for that. But people don’t know whether to commit to Blu-Ray or HD-DVD or wait for a decent hybrid, so even that advantage is being negated…

I’m probably wrong to count Sony out, though. When you’ve got that much money and development to throw at something, you’re never really out, right? That goes double for Microsoft!🙂

1 12 2007
B0bbyG

@ Cat: When I said Sony’s hardware was better, I meant that the console itself is more technologically sophisticated. I read Ctrl-Alt-Del from time to time, but I haven’t seen that one before. L(not actuallyOL), thanks for the grin!🙂

@ cjwriter: I’ve never been especially fond of the PlayStation series because of the emphasis they place on consoles over gameplay.

I’d also much rather stick with regular DVDs than any new version – we’ve only had our DVD player for a couple of years, and it wasn’t cheap. Do they honestly expect us to replace all our DVDs with Blu-ray versions?

Sony are a smart company though, and the PS3 is a very impressive console. With the right games and the right marketing, I can easily see them turning things around.

1 12 2007
Cat

Well, the format war hasn’t yet been decided and whoever analyst is asked the answer is HD DVD/Blu-Ray wins..

It is a shame that Sony aren’t doing well. The last years MS had to fight to keep up with Sony in the market, to innovate itself to get forward, to listen to the customers. With Sony doing such a great job damaging themselves MS won’t have to make such an effort and the customer is worse off…

1 12 2007
B0bbyG

I doubt very much that companies like Bungie LLC or Rare Ltd will stop making quality games even if Microsoft starts to get complacent. I’ve never been particularly fond of PlayStation series, but I think the PS3 has the potential to be the best console around – if there was a decent selection of games to play on it.

1 12 2007
Cat

Both the examples you name are published by Microsoft Game Studios.😉

It’s not just the games, it’s the hardware, the constant improvements and other editions for the 360 and really just listening to what customers want. Sony are in this mess because they didn’t care..

1 12 2007
B0bbyG

I know Bungie and Rare games are both published by Microsoft. That’s kinda the point I’m making – I don’t believe they’ll automatically stop making good games just because Microsoft themselves get careless.🙂

I certainly see your point though. Sony were probably complacent given the PS2’s success, and look what happened! I hope Microsoft don’t go the same way with their games consoles; I already suspect they’re not making an effort with their PCs…

24 04 2008
peeps

i personally think that the Wii and 360 are legues ahead of PS3🙂

24 04 2008
B0bbyG

Well, they’re both outselling the PS3 by over 7 million units worldwide, so it looks like a lot of people agree with you!🙂




