Piracy costs Internet connections

25 11 2007

According to the BBC, the French net firms will be monitoring the behavious of French Internet users to check for illegal file-sharing.  Persistent offenders will be thrown offline.  This move has pleased the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry, who describe it as “groundbreaking”.

 I wonder if we could see a similar move made in Britain, given the recent concern about file sharing.  I would be in two minds about it.  On the one hand, it’s good that the creators of music won’t have their music stolen, but on the other hand, that happens all the time – music corporations run off with the rights to songs that other people created.  So I don’t think this will be protecting the creators of music so much as the big corporations that never created anything in the first place and are strangling the industry anyway.

Hmm… death by downloads or death by record labels?  I’m not sure there’s very much to choose from between the two.


Actions

Information

4 responses

27 11 2007
Cat

This isn’t just music, it’s also film and TV, so basically any form of torrenting, isn’t it?

First of all I think any limitations are very wrong. It’s the internet. It’s worldwide. There shouldn’t be any laws in any country forbidding people to use it.

As for the illeagal downloading, well, I’d love to download my music legally. However there is either Itunes which has a shit format and seems to crash on Vista a lot and just generally doesn’t like any other files already in my library or well, nothing really. Every single site uses DRM which limits you from listening to it on more than x amount of devices, etc. And actual CD’s, well what’t the point? I stream all my music from the PC< so why should I buy CD’s, just so I can put the contents on to the PC to then never look at it again?

As for TV shows and films. for weeks I’ve been trying to find a set of films, however, play.com, amazon and all the usual suspects are sold out and they are nowhere in store.

I love some US shows, like Veronica Mars for example. That was shown in the middle of the night on one of the freeview channels last year. There are no region 2 DVD’s, it’s currently not broadcast over here and there are no plans to release it again here.

I’d like to buy it, but what can I do when I can’t?

Anyways, going to go back ranting on my blog now.🙂

27 11 2007
B0bbyG

Yes, it’s all torrenting, although music is a particular interest for me.

iTunes can be very annoying, and when coupled with the already-buggy Vista I imagine it would become something of a pain in the neck.

I’m a good boy, so I usually buy stuff. I prefer CDs to .mp3s anyway (better quality).

The thing is, making music doesn’t pay for itself, and if everyone downloaded illegally, we probably wouldn’t have any music left. These anti-piracy actions annoy me, though, because they’re usually devised by businessmen working for large media conglomerates, who have never produced a piece of creative work in their lives, and are strangling the industry with their own rules and regulations. Who are they to tell us what we can or can’t do with the music, when they didn’t write it in the first place?

Uh… sorry, I seem to have gotten a little sidetracked. Ranting is fun, isn’t it? 🙂

I feel your pain about the Veronica Mars thing, even though I don’t watch it myself.

27 11 2007
Cat

Ranting is very good!

See I understand your argument and I agree to an extent [although looking at it IMO the best music is by bands/people who are not all that famous or up and coming], however, I wish there was some way to just have one site where you can download all without DRM. I would then download all my music from there.

Take the Zune/Zune pass for example. In general the idea is good, but there is soooo much that isn’t in the store. Plus you don’t ‘own’ the music…

One site, all the music, no DRM and I’d happily pay for it!

As for the people making the decisions, well, they’re the one who realise there’s less money these days. Rules and regulations, that’s what it all comes down to…

27 11 2007
B0bbyG

I hate copy protection. They put it on some CDs, too. It’s stupid and largely pointless, because it does nothing to stop skilled pirates who can hack past the code or use sufficiently high-quality recording equipment to tape it using the analogue loophole. Instead, it punishes consumers who paid for the music and consequently can’t transfer it to their computers or .mp3 players.

But these are really futile attempts to move against the tide. I suspect that in the not-too-distant future, we may well see sites like the one you describe, but it won’t happen until the people in the industry accept that, ultimately, you can’t fight the Internet.




