“Should’ve been in Guitar Hero” songs

10 11 2007

I don’t own any Guitar Hero games, but I was very impressed by Guitar Hero III at Music Live.  I’ve examined a list of the songs used on the soundtracks, and it’s no wonder Guitar Hero II won the 1xtra Soundtrack of the Year award at the Golden Joysticks – Nirvana, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Van Halen, Thin Lizzy, Rage Against the Machine…

But looking at the lists more closely, there are some fairly conspicuous omissions.  So I decided to create a list of all the songs that, IMHO, should have been in a Guitar Hero game, but, alas, weren’t.  In alphabetical order (cause I’m neat like that):

“Aces High” by Iron Maiden

“All Along the Watchtower” by Jimi Hendrix

“Alla Turca” by Mozart (arranged for guitar, obviously)

“Anyone Can Play Guitar” by Radiohead

“Black Night” by Deep Purple

“Constant Motion” by Dream Theater

“Dani California” by Red Hot Chili Peppers

“Death on Two Legs” by Queen

“English Civil War” by the Clash

“Eruption” by Van Halen

“Fireball” by Deep Purple

“Geek U.S.A.” by the Smashing Pumpkins

“Helter Skelter” by the Beatles

“Hey You” by Pink Floyd

“Highway Star” by Deep Purple

“Holiday” by Green Day

“One Hot Minute” by Red Hot Chili Peppers

“One Step Closer” by Linkin Park

“Master of Puppets” by Metallica

“Paranoid Android” by Radiohead

“Pinball Wizard” by the Who

“Red” by King Crimson

“Revolution” by the Beatles

“Rumble” by Link Wray and his Ray Men

“Sk8r Boi” by Avril Lavigne

“Slam” by Pendulum

“Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana

“Song 2” by Blur

“Stairway to Heaven” by Led Zeppelin

“The Boys Are Back in Town” by Thin Lizzy

“Tie Your Mother Down” by Queen

“While My Guitar Gently Weeps” by the Beatles

“Whole Lotta Love” by Led Zeppelin

“You Give Love a Bad Name” by Bon Jovi

“Zero” by the Smashing Pumpkins

Some of those are famous songs that really obviously should have been in the games, whilst others are personal favourites of mine.  My brother, when he saw this list, suggested “Canon Rock” by JerryC as a song that should have been used.  I agree, that would be quite awesome.

What would be even more awesome would be if someone from Activision saw this list and thought, “now there’s an idea…”  Hey, I can dream.


Actions

Information

11 responses

10 11 2007
Bobby

The greatest and most popular rock band of all time remains Led Zeppelin, as evidenced by the unprecedented demand (over a BILLION hits with 25 million attempts to register) for tickets to their ‘reunion’ (no John Bonham). Never has there been a more influential band (Beatles included) than Led Zep. Given this indisputable fact, why are there no Zeppelin songs in the Guitar Hero series? Afterall, nearly every single tune that is on the game has come from a band that has idolized Zeppelin wether they admit it or not.

11 11 2007
B0bbyG

Agreed. I was actually shocked to find that there have been no Led Zep songs in any of the Guitar Hero games. It’s ridiculous. I personally would say the same about the Beatles. Maybe it’s a licensing problem.

11 11 2007
cjwriter

I haven’t played the games either (though I’m interested now), but I looked up the soundtracks and the big one which jumps out at me (after Led Zeppelin) is Oasis. Did I miss it or isn’t there one Oasis song in any of the soundtracks? What about Wonderwall, Don’t Look Back in Anger or Cigarettes & Alcohol?

Also Matchbox Twenty. I’d have thought Push, 3 A.M or Long Day would suit the soundtrack. And definitely U2! Even Better Than The Real Thing, Desire or Beautiful Day… I think you’re right, it must be a licensing thing… I can’t imagine a series like this not having one U2 song otherwise. I’m interested now, though, I’ll have to check them out; some excellent songs, even with a few exclusions.😉

11 11 2007
B0bbyG

*Slaps forehead* D’oh! I knew I’d forgotten something!

Man, I can’t believe I forgot about Oasis, they’re one of my favourite bands! “Live Forever” is my favourite Oasis song, but perhaps the songs you listed would be better in Guitar Hero. I totally forgot U2 as well!😦

There were plenty of artists that weren’t on the soundtracks, but which any self-respecting guitar game ought to include, for example Led Zeppelin, the Beatles, Oasis, U2, Green Day, Jimi Hendrix, Bon Jovi and Radiohead. On the other hand, they did squeeze in an awful lot of good stuff; I’m just surprised they found room for Tenacious D and none of the above. o_o;

22 03 2008
Me

There should have been a lot more Queen songs like “I Want It All” and “Keep Yourself Alive” they both have great guitar parts. “Now I’m Here” has a good guitar part too.

22 03 2008
B0bbyG

I completely agree. “Stone Cold Crazy”, “Brighton Rock”, “Princes of the Universe” and “Innuendo” would all have been good choices as well.

1 06 2008
german

Radiohead – Creep

Radiohead – EVERY SINGLE SONG AT IT IS

Acidman *.*

2 06 2008
B0bbyG

Yeah, Radiohead are excellent.

If you’d like to play “Creep” in a Guitar Hero-type game, may I recommend Rock Band? That has “Creep” in it.

26 08 2008
Avril Lavigne

That would be sweet to go see Avril Lavigne in concert in Beijing China. Her tour date says it’s October 6th. After watching the olympics, I really want to visit Beijing now.

27 08 2008
B0bbyG

Yes, I suppose it would. I’m not really a fan of Avril Lavigne, especially not the more recent songs, but yeah.

Beijing does look like quite a nice place to visit.🙂

12 04 2010
Julia Schrodt

I’ve bookmarked your site, the articles are way better here than on other blogs.. thanks for a great read!




