Music video musings

2 09 2007

Well, I’ve analysed two music videos that both used rather minimalist approaches, both with fixed cameras, one consisting of mainly actual performance and the other of nothing but acting.  Of course, most videos aren’t so basic, and many combine elements of performance with other scenes.  Of the videos I’ve watched, most have been live action, although it’s clear that animated videos aren’t unheard of.

Not entirely dissimilar to the music video is a movie full of songs.  You know, like a musical or rock opera.  For a recent rock example, there was the Tenacious D comedy Tenacious D in The Pick of Destiny, but these things go way back and have their roots in stage musicals.

One other thing I’ve noticed is that some genres seem to produce far more music videos than others.  The majority of videos are rock and pop, whilst, for example, jazz and folk videos are rare.  Classical videos are virtually unheard of (if one doesn’t count Disney’s Fantasia movies).

Music videos also seem to be more heavily associated to heavily commercial bands, presumably because they’re a good sales opportunity.  Which is not to say there aren’t plenty of bands who make decent music videos as art for art’s sake, just that the general idea seems to be to make money.  Which makes sense, given that that’s what drives industry.

As a side note, was I the only one who felt sorry for the redheaded Lavigne with the glasses in the “Girlfriend” music video?  I mean, maybe it’s just my nerd persona asserting itself, but I sympathised with her a lot more than with the black-haired rocker Lavigne, who struck me as a complete cow.  I guess that’s what we would describe in media studies as an “aberrant reading”.  Oh well.

I’ll be getting some more analyses up on here shortly, so keep checking back here.


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 10 2008
Sonia

ahaa
i love music & films
I like mostly video more than Audio songs

14 10 2008
B0bbyG

Me too. I generally prefer just listening to songs to watching music videos, but there are some very good music videos out there.




