Set-top boxes

27 05 2007

Click here to view BBC Click‘s reviews of a number of set-top boxes.  They assess Apple TV, Netgear, and D-Link and compare them.  The conclusion (which is brilliant IMHO) is: “If you want style and something that just works out of the box go for the Apple, but do so knowing that it is essentially an iPod for your television.”  LNAOLBIDBHTPWTLOLARLOL*.  I’m not an iPod fan myself, so I don’t think I’ll be getting one of those guys any time soon, but with the rate technology’s currently advancing at, who knows?  I was slightly more intrigued by the Netgear Digital Entertainer HD, which they say is also worth a look in, especially if you want to see what the net has to offer, but it’s apparently less reliable and needs new media experience.  I suspect that means that it’s a little… temperamental.  The PS3 and Xbox 360 also get a mention, which has to say something about convergence.  TV meets Internet meets games console meets video player!  Scared yet?

*In case you’re wondering, that acronym stands for “Laughing, Not Actually Out Loud, But I Don’t Believe Half The People Who Type “LOL” Are Really Laughing Out Loud”.  Just so you know.


Actions

Information




