IMAX therefore I am, or something

29 03 2007

I’ve been researching this IMAX thing.  I didn’t know anything about it, but their website makes it sound pretty cool (well, it would, wouldn’t it?).

IMAX (the name is a portmanteau word combining “image” and “maximum”) is the most powerful film technology in the world.  They have this massive screen which is slightly curved, so as to be more immersive.  The film is extra sharp and the projectors are apparently so bright that you could see one from the moon (yeah… not entirely sure I believe that).  On top of all that, the whole thing is presented in uncompressed digital surround sound.  Very nice.

So that’s IMAX for you.  They also do this weird thing called IMAX dome, and 3D cinemas.

That’s all I have to say.


Actions

Information




