Manhunt 2 gets a UK release

14 03 2008

As reported by the BBC, Manhunt 2 will finally be released in the UK, albeit in an edited form, with an 18 certificate and a caution that it contains “very strong sadistic bloody violence”.

The game had been rejected by the BBFC twice, but the Video Appeals Committee has overruled them this time around.

 I’m just glad this whole fuss is over - it’s been raging since June last year - although I have no intention of buying the game, since I am not a fan of gory movies, and the Manhunt games are essentially gory movies in playable form.


Actions

Information

4 responses

16 03 2008
museditions

I understand that you are glad the fuss is over…but do you feel it is a good idea to unleash a game of this nature onto society? I’m not advocating censorship, mind, but I wonder what “good” can come of this? Don’t listen to me, though. I just play cutsie-wootsie adventure games. sigh.

16 03 2008
B0bbyG

Well, put it this way – if I were in charge of Rockstar Games, would I publish Manhunt 2? No, probably not. But then, equally, if I were a movie publisher, would I publish the Saw series? I don’t think I would.

On the other hand, I understand that other people enjoy violent games and movies, so I wouldn’t take action to prevent them being published if somebody else wanted to, which is what the BBFC did.

My idea of a fun video game is typically one involving eating mushrooms or collecting golden jigsaw pieces, and the first Manhunt didn’t appeal, so there is no chance of me buying Manhunt 2. I just don’t see the point in making a fuss.

17 03 2008
museditions

You have a quite balanced perspective, Bobby. I appreciate that about you! :)

17 03 2008
B0bbyG

Thank you!!! :)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

